Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Sure, fresh lavender is better, but sometimes dried is all you have. If so, and if you also have a food processor, run the dried lavender blossoms around in the processor, using a normal blade. Pause every few seconds and see how it's doing. What you're trying to do with this is separate the dried outer purple flowers from the tough seedy structures inside them. If it looks like that's happening, turn out the lavender into a wire mesh strainer and shake and toss it over a bowl. Most of the tough inner seedy bits should fall through, leaving the more desirable purple flowers. Naturally, you'll have to re-measure your separated lavender blossoms to get the right quantity for your cookies. The deprecated interior bits of the flowers still smell wonderfully of lavender. Keep those plus the leftover snipped mint and grated lemon rind -- I like to spread it on a plate to dry. When you feel like having a luxurious soak, put the leftover flavorings in a big tea ball and run your bathwater hot at first to get it steeping. As for the cookies? They're very good. I think I may try softening the butter, beating in aromatic herbs, and leaving the mixture to sit for a while in a sealed container in the refrigerator. I suspect the flavor of the herbs would migrate into the butter. After letting this happen, I'd soften the butter again and press it through a strainer, then just use the flavored butter. It would be interesting to have herb-flavored cookies with no visible herbs in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Interesting flavor! I used "culinary lavender" (dried lavender flowers) from an area lavender farm. I wanted more of a subtle, evenly distributed mint flavor, so instead of chopping up mint leaves I used a few drops of mint extract. I used the tip from a previous reviewer and rolled the dough into two logs in wax paper, refrigerated, and then simply sliced 1/4" thick rounds to put onto the cookie sheet. I found this yielded 50 cookies, and they are plenty rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a quick, easy, and delicious shortbread recipe! I did change a few things in the recipe; I didn't add any mint, I substituted dried lavender for fresh, and I added about a teaspoon of extra lemon zest. I rolled the dough into a log, wrapped it in wax paper, and let it cool in the fridge for about an hour before using dental floss to cut each cookie. The finished product was rich and lemony with just a little hint of lavender every now and then. I will definitely make these again, next time I'll probably add even more lemon zest and try another type of flower or herb (maybe violet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Nice flavor. Nice texture. I did not put in the mint because I wanted a true lavender flavor to the cookie. I formed into logs, chilled overnight, and then sliced into 1/4 inch thick rounds. Cooked for 18 minutes. Not as pretty but alot faster and easier. These spread out quite a bit, not sure if they would hold the desired shape of a cookie cutter. I tried to roll mine in purple sugar like the picture. Mine came out an ugly brown because the edges started to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Cookies are crisp, but melt in your mouth. Probably all that butter.... I didn't have fresh mint or lavender, so I used 1/2 T. dried lavender and 1 teaspoon dried peppermint. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. DELICIOUS with a strong British tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lulu4014
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
These are very interesting/different cookie. A nice change from the ordinary, and what a really unique taste. I didn't have access to any fresh mint or lavender, so i used dry. These would be awesome with some Earl Grey tea, but i enjoyed them with my coke zero nontheless. I think these would be really nice for a baby shower...i brought them to work and got some mixed respnses, but personally, i thought they were really good. the only thing i'd do differently next time is to add more lemon zest ( i love lemon) and scale back on the mint. I followed the suggestion of another poster who said to roll them into 2 separat logs and then cut with a knife, that made prep time really quick and nice uniform cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu4014
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Initially I was a little weary of trying these cookies-lavender and mint sounded more like a soap than a cookie. However, I love shortbread and and decided to give it a try. I used fresh lavender and mint from my garden. Instead of rolling the dough with a pin and then cutting, I rolled these into two seperate logs, wrapped and refridgerated, and then using a knife cut them 1/4 thick (this cut way down on prep time). My boyfriend thought that I should rate them a 3, but I liked them and will compromise and give them a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! Made this for a get together and they were a huge hit! Only had 3 fresh flowers in my garden so I used those and 1 T of dried blossoms. Followed the recipe as is - no spreading of cookies. Chilled dough in 2 logs for an hour + and sliced them. MMMMMMMM! House smelled SO yummy! Will definitely make again - may even enter them in the county fair since they are so different. Not a dense shortbread, but one that almost melts in your mouth, very light and crisp! THANK YOU for the recipe! Oh, I did keep an eye on them and they were ready within about 12 - 15 minutes. I may have sliced them thinner. Just make sure you pull them out when the edges begin to color and they'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I made a batch recently which my boyfriend brought to work; his coworkers offered to make me "Chief Cookie Officer". They are a big hit -- buttery and light, with an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These had such an interesting and unusual flavor, and would go so well with a nice black tea. I used 1.5 tbsp dried lavender and a few drops of peppermint extract and upped the lemon zest a kick, and they turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States