Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Nice flavor however my husband couldn't get past the soap taste. He was tasting what he would normally smell. But I did enjoy the cookie with tea. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These had a lovely, complex flavor that my children really enjoyed. My only criticism is that because of the moisture from the fresh herbs, these don't keep as long as regular shortbread cookies, so if you're not planning to eat them all within a day or two, freeze them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! I would have never thought to add mint to lavender cookies- great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made as the recipe stated but had to use dried lavender. Chilled the dough, rolled and used a small 1 7/8" - 48mm round cookie cutter. These were excellent. I wanted them small to serve with tea. This was perfect. The shortbread is delicious, the aroma pleasant and the lavender flower buds give the cookies an elegant appearance. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Sure, fresh lavender is better, but sometimes dried is all you have. If so, and if you also have a food processor, run the dried lavender blossoms around in the processor, using a normal blade. Pause every few seconds and see how it's doing. What you're trying to do with this is separate the dried outer purple flowers from the tough seedy structures inside them. If it looks like that's happening, turn out the lavender into a wire mesh strainer and shake and toss it over a bowl. Most of the tough inner seedy bits should fall through, leaving the more desirable purple flowers. Naturally, you'll have to re-measure your separated lavender blossoms to get the right quantity for your cookies. The deprecated interior bits of the flowers still smell wonderfully of lavender. Keep those plus the leftover snipped mint and grated lemon rind -- I like to spread it on a plate to dry. When you feel like having a luxurious soak, put the leftover flavorings in a big tea ball and run your bathwater hot at first to get it steeping. As for the cookies? They're very good. I think I may try softening the butter, beating in aromatic herbs, and leaving the mixture to sit for a while in a sealed container in the refrigerator. I suspect the flavor of the herbs would migrate into the butter. After letting this happen, I'd soften the butter again and press it through a strainer, then just use the flavored butter. It would be interesting to have herb-flavored cookies with no visible herbs in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a quick, easy, and delicious shortbread recipe! I did change a few things in the recipe; I didn't add any mint, I substituted dried lavender for fresh, and I added about a teaspoon of extra lemon zest. I rolled the dough into a log, wrapped it in wax paper, and let it cool in the fridge for about an hour before using dental floss to cut each cookie. The finished product was rich and lemony with just a little hint of lavender every now and then. I will definitely make these again, next time I'll probably add even more lemon zest and try another type of flower or herb (maybe violet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Nice flavor. Nice texture. I did not put in the mint because I wanted a true lavender flavor to the cookie. I formed into logs, chilled overnight, and then sliced into 1/4 inch thick rounds. Cooked for 18 minutes. Not as pretty but alot faster and easier. These spread out quite a bit, not sure if they would hold the desired shape of a cookie cutter. I tried to roll mine in purple sugar like the picture. Mine came out an ugly brown because the edges started to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I made a batch recently which my boyfriend brought to work; his coworkers offered to make me "Chief Cookie Officer". They are a big hit -- buttery and light, with an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These had such an interesting and unusual flavor, and would go so well with a nice black tea. I used 1.5 tbsp dried lavender and a few drops of peppermint extract and upped the lemon zest a kick, and they turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Interesting flavor! I used "culinary lavender" (dried lavender flowers) from an area lavender farm. I wanted more of a subtle, evenly distributed mint flavor, so instead of chopping up mint leaves I used a few drops of mint extract. I used the tip from a previous reviewer and rolled the dough into two logs in wax paper, refrigerated, and then simply sliced 1/4" thick rounds to put onto the cookie sheet. I found this yielded 50 cookies, and they are plenty rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States