Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Got rave reviews from the co-workers on this one! I did not use mint or lemon zest because I didn't have any on hand. I added some lemon juice instead but it didn't really add any flavor. Next time I will be sure to use the zest. I rolled the dough in wax paper, chilled it for an hour, and cut it into slices to bake. I also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top of each cookie before baking. These cookies did not spread as some other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was very nice. I used 1 tsp. lemon juice 1 tsp lemon zest and soaked lavender and hibiscus in it for 45 minutes, stranied and then added the liquid to the butter sugar mixture. This added a subtle twist of color to the cookie. Served it with Lavender lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobbieLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
My family did not like these at all. I followed the instructions to a T but they just weren't for us. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Amazing recipe - the only thing that I recommend is topping the cookies with sea salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These are perfect. I did not happen to have any fresh mint the first time I made these, so I omitted it. The second time, I added it. Both batches were absolutely delightful, so don't fret if you're missing the mint. Otherwise, don't change a thing about this recipe. Also, to be quick, I just divided the dough into two balls, formed them into logs, wrapped in plastic and chilled into the refrigerator. When fully chilled (about 45 mins) I cut into 1/4 inch slices and put directly onto the cookie sheet. 18 1/2 minutes later they emerged from the oven with perfectly golden edges. If you love shortbread biscuits, you won't be disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Received rave reviews during a lavender themed tea party that I gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These were great! I used 2 tsp dried lavender, since I didn't have any fresh. I also left the mint out, since I'm not a huge fan. I had to run out for a while, so I ended up leaving it wrapped in the fridge for about 8 hours. I was worried that the flavor would be too much, but it was perfect! I'm definitely going to keep with recipe as my shortbread to use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMDMD

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I love this recipe! Did not have fresh mint so increased the lemon zest and it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious and pretty. I'm impatient so I didn't chill it for an hour, but it was still fine, I just put a little more flour when I was rolling it out to combat the stickiness. I also sifted a little powdered sugar over mine at the end (though it was purely for looks, and it really didn't need the extra sweetness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Loved this recipe! Made this for a get together and they were a huge hit! Only had 3 fresh flowers in my garden so I used those and 1 T of dried blossoms. Followed the recipe as is - no spreading of cookies. Chilled dough in 2 logs for an hour + and sliced them. MMMMMMMM! House smelled SO yummy! Will definitely make again - may even enter them in the county fair since they are so different. Not a dense shortbread, but one that almost melts in your mouth, very light and crisp! THANK YOU for the recipe! Oh, I did keep an eye on them and they were ready within about 12 - 15 minutes. I may have sliced them thinner. Just make sure you pull them out when the edges begin to color and they'll be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States