Lavender Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had to add more flour for my cutouts to keep their shape crisply, but the recipe was an excellent starting point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent and easy. Very short. The lemon is just right with the lavender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These were easy to make and tasty but they tasted more like chamomile tea and just lemon and lavender. I halved the recipe and rolled into logs and sliced before baking and I still netted about 4 dozen 3" cookies. I will make again but I think I'll add more lemon and lavender and leave out the mint (the mint was really good but I think it's what made them taste like chamomile).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made as written except omitted mint. Rolled into logs and cut. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Love this recipe. I take dried lavender and put it in sugar in a sealed container and let the lavender flavor seep into the sugar for a couple of weeks, so I use dried vs fresh. But I do agree with others, more lemon zest, a little less mint leaves. But this cookie has layers of flavors as you eat it. Have come back and used this recipe a few times. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe was easy to make and turned out well. I omitted the mint and added some lemon juice. As with other reviews I rolled the dough in a log instead using cookie cutters. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REf
Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These are great and very easy to make, I did use fresh lavender from my yard and had to use a coffee mill to grind it up, I used a microplane to zest a whole large lemon, and omitted the mint. I refrigerated it in one lump in a bowl and then chilled it for 3-4 hours and used the large end of a melon baller to scoop out rounds and left them round on the airbake cookie sheet without flattening them out. They came out fantastic! Very subtle, I'd probably use more lavender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is just fabulous. I made this recipe for Easter and my family just loved them. I used fresh lavender, mint and lemon zest and the cookes were outstanding. Am now going to make them for a wedding for the guests. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were fantastic. They didn't even last a day in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Got rave reviews from the co-workers on this one! I did not use mint or lemon zest because I didn't have any on hand. I added some lemon juice instead but it didn't really add any flavor. Next time I will be sure to use the zest. I rolled the dough in wax paper, chilled it for an hour, and cut it into slices to bake. I also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top of each cookie before baking. These cookies did not spread as some other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States