Lavender Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
a little infused oil on the chops/white pepper it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Like everyone else said, they needed some salt. I brined the steaks for 2 hours before preparing, also there was a bit too much lavender, and too much oil. Next time, I think I'll cut those in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was very good HOWEVER trying to find fresh lavender isn't always an easy thing so we had to omit it. But the flavor was good just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
First time using Lavender! I knew in advance that it was way to much oil. I used dried herbs for mine and also baked mine. I added a bit of oil to both sides and then rubbed in the herbs and let it sit for about 20 mins before cooking. They got a good taste to them but as others have stated, they are lacking in some flavor. Family agreed that they were okay but thought other pork recipes were better. I may though try this one again and add some salt and pepper to spice it up. I suggest that others do so too if they are the type to need a bit more umph to their meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So good! I cooked them in a frying pan using the marinade oil, since it was way too cold outside to grill, and they were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Made with veggie boca burgers. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I tried this a couple of weeks ago on my husband, mom and dad, and they all loved it! My first lavender recipe to try and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I soaked the pork in the herbs, then pan fried it and served it with noodles and a creamy white gravy. OUTSTANDING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I used thick-cut boneless chops & decreased the cooking time to compensate. Next time, I will brine them first in a saltwater bath w/ a couple of sprigs of the herbs. That will help keep them juicy & add flavor. I was unsure as to whther the recipe meant to use the greenery of the lavender or teh lavender buds. Never used the greenery before but assumed that it would be "lavender buds" if that was what was intended, so I used the greenery. I was also unsure of using so much, since lavender can have such an overpowering flavor, but I braved it. I was soo glad....it had lots of flavor w/out the unpleasant "perfumey" taste that the buds can have. I decreased the oil by half & next time, I will only give them a rub of oil & then just rub on the herbs, to avoid flare-ups on the grill. I drizzled a bit of honey on the plate to dress it up some & it added the perfect flavor. We both got more "drizzle" when we ran out. ;o) Loved the recipe & I will definitely repeat but I'll make my suggested changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Awesome, unique flavor. Just superb blend of seasoning. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States