Lavender Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, it is sweet, floral, and light and feathery. I used a pinch less than 1 Tbs of flowers, and used only colored sugar on top. ( I sprinkled the sugar before entering the oven, to make sure it adheres to the cookie) in the recipe i noticed too it was a little dry, even for a shortbread recipe, i added 1 tsp vanilla to mellow out the lavender as well as to compliment the lovely scent of the flower. Next time I am going to use vanilla scented sugar ontop the cookies. You can make your own vanilla sugar by placing a vanilla bean in a gallon size bag, or canister of sugar, let set for a week or two, and use in your recipes accordingly. Over all this was an absolutely delicious recipe, even my 5 year old son loved them as well as my picky husband. it's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Personally I loved these cookies. The lavender flowers I used were a bit old so they gave a faint taste of lavender. The next batch, cause this one will disappear quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
My friends and I absolutely love this recipe! It's savory, sweet, and delicious. Perfect with milk or tea. I grow my own lavender, which doesn't flower, so I substitute finely chopped leaves with equally delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
These are delightful. They smell great, and taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
these are awesome cookies. you never think about eating lavender but it's a very good, unique taste that even my boyfriend liked. these cookies were gone before they were fully cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZUNDERCOVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was a great recipe, simple and just what I was looking for ever since I had lavender cookies at the Farmer's Market in Davis, CA. I used Earth Balance instead of butter since I don't eat dairy, and the Earth Balance added some salt. The flavor was delicious. I think the lavender you use makes a big difference. I used a handful of fresh buds and blooms from the Lavender Lady I have growing in my garden. It was not medicinal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These would be good little shortbread cookies even without the lavendar flowers. The lavendar was a little strong, so I would reduce it next time. But it was a beautiful summer cookie and a wonderful picnic cookie as well. It woudl be wonderful with come course sugar on top to add some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
When I read the first review, I couldn't understand how someone could think this is a bad recipe. I think it is a matter of taste. This is not your conventional cookie recipe. Not many people bake with lavender. I used 1 heaping tbs dried lavender instead of fresh and it was perfect. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These cookies turned out perfect! They aren't supposed to be more than a sugar cookie with a hint of a flowery texture. I sprinkled the top with plain white sugar, baked them and served with a purple napkin. Makes a perfect pairing with tea and is a very pretty cookie. Although, I did substitute fresh blossoms for dried and it made them so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Incredible! Like an amazingly fluffy sugar cookie! My dad doesn't like sugar cookies, but he liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States