Lavender Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These would be good little shortbread cookies even without the lavendar flowers. The lavendar was a little strong, so I would reduce it next time. But it was a beautiful summer cookie and a wonderful picnic cookie as well. It woudl be wonderful with come course sugar on top to add some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2000
Personally I loved these cookies. The lavender flowers I used were a bit old so they gave a faint taste of lavender. The next batch, cause this one will disappear quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
These are delightful. They smell great, and taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
these are awesome cookies. you never think about eating lavender but it's a very good, unique taste that even my boyfriend liked. these cookies were gone before they were fully cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZUNDERCOVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
My friends and I absolutely love this recipe! It's savory, sweet, and delicious. Perfect with milk or tea. I grow my own lavender, which doesn't flower, so I substitute finely chopped leaves with equally delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was a great recipe, simple and just what I was looking for ever since I had lavender cookies at the Farmer's Market in Davis, CA. I used Earth Balance instead of butter since I don't eat dairy, and the Earth Balance added some salt. The flavor was delicious. I think the lavender you use makes a big difference. I used a handful of fresh buds and blooms from the Lavender Lady I have growing in my garden. It was not medicinal at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This recipe is wonderful, it is sweet, floral, and light and feathery. I used a pinch less than 1 Tbs of flowers, and used only colored sugar on top. ( I sprinkled the sugar before entering the oven, to make sure it adheres to the cookie) in the recipe i noticed too it was a little dry, even for a shortbread recipe, i added 1 tsp vanilla to mellow out the lavender as well as to compliment the lovely scent of the flower. Next time I am going to use vanilla scented sugar ontop the cookies. You can make your own vanilla sugar by placing a vanilla bean in a gallon size bag, or canister of sugar, let set for a week or two, and use in your recipes accordingly. Over all this was an absolutely delicious recipe, even my 5 year old son loved them as well as my picky husband. it's a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
When I read the first review, I couldn't understand how someone could think this is a bad recipe. I think it is a matter of taste. This is not your conventional cookie recipe. Not many people bake with lavender. I used 1 heaping tbs dried lavender instead of fresh and it was perfect. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These cookies turned out perfect! They aren't supposed to be more than a sugar cookie with a hint of a flowery texture. I sprinkled the top with plain white sugar, baked them and served with a purple napkin. Makes a perfect pairing with tea and is a very pretty cookie. Although, I did substitute fresh blossoms for dried and it made them so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Incredible! Like an amazingly fluffy sugar cookie! My dad doesn't like sugar cookies, but he liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States