Lavender Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These cookies were wonderful, light and flowery. I followed the directions, but rolled them into little balls and flattened them with the bottom of a glass on the cookie sheet. When they were cool, I spread a glaze of confectioners sugar and a little water, and then sprinkled with easter sprinkles. My family really enjoyed them. I think I'll try the same recipe and substitute anise seed for the lavender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I thought these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Incredible! Like an amazingly fluffy sugar cookie! My dad doesn't like sugar cookies, but he liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I was so disappointed. I followed some of the other suggestions and added 1 tsp vanilla, rolled it, placed in the refrigerator, sliced and baked. It turned out so dry, even with reduced time. I can see how others found it too "crumbly" as a dropped cookie. I did like that it was less sweet and with one tbsp fresh lavender and 1 teaspoon dried it had a subtle flavor, but it was more a biscuit than cookie. I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These cookies turned out perfect! They aren't supposed to be more than a sugar cookie with a hint of a flowery texture. I sprinkled the top with plain white sugar, baked them and served with a purple napkin. Makes a perfect pairing with tea and is a very pretty cookie. Although, I did substitute fresh blossoms for dried and it made them so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Delicious! I agree with the review below - those changes were spot on. I like a heavier lavender flavor but it is easy enough to change that per your taste. I made a couple alterations of my own. I refrigerated the dough an hour before. Then I made dough balls, flattened them into appx 1/8" thick discs and sprinkled the top with a superfine sugar. However - If you do this, you will need to reduce baking time to 9 or 10 minutes. Cookies are best just as or just before they start to brown on the bottom. Will be flaky and crispy and not too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Myself and everyone I have had try these cookies absolutely love them!!! It's just the right amount of lavender taste. I have found that you can add just about any type of edible flower to this recipe as well, jasmine flowers have been my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
When I read the first review, I couldn't understand how someone could think this is a bad recipe. I think it is a matter of taste. This is not your conventional cookie recipe. Not many people bake with lavender. I used 1 heaping tbs dried lavender instead of fresh and it was perfect. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were okay. I doubled the lavender in the cookies and thought that was just right. The cookies themselves were very dry. I would try adding lavender to a sugar cookie based. I just don't care for dry biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These would be good little shortbread cookies even without the lavendar flowers. The lavendar was a little strong, so I would reduce it next time. But it was a beautiful summer cookie and a wonderful picnic cookie as well. It woudl be wonderful with come course sugar on top to add some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States