Lava Lamps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KARAMIA2
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were just the coolest! Everyone at my party loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's toast and everyone loved the lava lamp concept. Even our son, the bartender was impressed. Now a tip for novices (like me:0): I used a Trader Joe recommend that was a Cava Brut and learned the hard way that I don't like Brut - which typically is very dry. Maybe this is common knowledge but I had no clue. Some liked it but I did not and think that especially for this specific combo a sweet sparkling wine would be much better. I contemplated dropping in a little cube of sugar to soften the blow but never got around to it. I also screwed up (trying to do to much prep for dinner party) and did not include the vodka in the jello which turned out to be a good thing. That way I was able to make the children Lava Lamps with 7-up (worked like a charm) and for the grown ups we just put a 1/2 pour of vodka on top of the jello before topping off with the bubbly. I would definitely try again with a sweet bubbly. Lots of fun. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very, very good... nice twist on the ordinary champagne. I served at a make-up promotion party... They will sneak up on you though! Be ware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Let the jello sit at rom temp for just a little bit. It will rise to the top better if it is not fresh from the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHEESCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garretson, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
WoW! Blast from the past! I was a "shot girl" in my early days & we used to serve these w/ all sorts of different liquours...Midori,etc (as someone else mentioned). What great fun...I totally forgot about these! Thanks Pamela! P.S. We used to serve these in test plastic tubes...very cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
these were a huge hit at my mom's bday party! they only actually look like a lava lamp for the first couple minutes and then the fizz dies down too much to make the chunks of jello go up and down. that is just enough time to enjoy the effect before drinking it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This drink was a hit at my party. I made a batch of Watermelon and a batch of Cherry. Everyone loved the Watermelon (said it tasted like a jolly rancher). the Cherry didn't go over so good. They definately sneak up on you. Will surely make this again in watermelon only, and get more than 1 bottle of champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Made for a party we had. They looked great, but didn't taste the best. Maybe it was the champaign. We then tried lemon lime soda, but that was too sweet. Fun, but a waste of good jell-0 shots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
ew. the texture is so gross! it felt like i was swallowing a piece of jelly fish or something. hahaha. although they do pack a punch, so that's a plus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were very good. The presentation was fun and they really reminded us of lava lamps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French 75 Cocktail

This classic Champagne cocktail is refreshing—and potent.

Original Champagne Cocktail

See how to make a simple, elegant Champagne cocktail.

The Big Jamo Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make the Big Jamo whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States