Lava Lamps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were a cute novelty. You do have to swirl the glass for the true effect, but that was expected. I made jello shots with vodka, but you could really do with or without alcohol in the jello with the same visual effect and taste. I would make again and not bother with the vodka, wouldnt even notice it missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Made these last year and were a huge hit. This year going to follow advice and make it one lg tupperware container. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
AWESOME! I made these at this year's Halloween party! I mixed a black cherry (and UV Cherry) jello shot with Mondoro sparkling wine. It tasted great and looked really cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I think you have to be a jello shot fan to like this drink. I don't like jello shots and thought this drink was gross. Sorry. But what I did do for the kids was make regular jello (red or blue) and add it to Sprite. They loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Didn't let the jello shots warm up so the jello sank. But still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Made with Asti Spumante and strawberry lime jello. YUM! The jello came straight out of the freezer and sank- next time I'll try letting it warm up. With the champagne, it's not really a shot, but you have to slurp the jello up a the end unless you shoot it. A lot of guests didn't eat the jello and said it was squishy. But, this was at a bridal shower, and not a very wild crowd. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these for a valentines Day party and everyone loved them. I made spiked jello and regular jello and set out sprite and champagne. People could choose virgin (sprite & reg. jello) or any combination. The favorite was sprite with the spiked jello. The jello floated better in the sprite than in the champagne, making it possible to get a little jello with each sip. Thanks for a fun drink idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made these over the holidays using sweet spumante champagne and extra strength jello shots. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very Festive!!!! I made these for Christmas Eve. I made 2 types of Jello shots....Cherry & Melon Fusion....so I had red & green. and i used an inexpensive Cava Brut. I figured with the sweetness of the Jello, a dryer sparkling wine would be better. I did notice larger goblet type glasses seemed to work better than regular flutes for the lava effect....However both looked very nice!!! Will definitely make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

The Big Jamo Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make the Big Jamo whiskey cocktail.

Gibson Cocktail

See how to mix the best Gibson cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States