Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Love this recipe but I made a few changes. Omitted the green peppers but added bread crumbs and two eggs and mix Into brown meat. This gives a meat, crumb, texture. Sort of like a pie crust. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I modified this recipe just in taking out the pie shell for health reasons. I have celiac and really didn't feel like making a homemade crust tonight. I also added cheese to the top of the potatoes for the last 5 minutes of cooking. The taste was good. This is a great base recipe to make changes to that suit your palette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Made this and loved it.. i not only used one pie crust but topped it with another and even my picky eater husband LOVED it!!! Just fantastic... i mix it up and add my own secrets ,like everyone... or just change it around ... no way to mess this up!! Thanks for posting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Hanson Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made this last night and it was delicious. I used regular corn instead of cream style. I didn't use a pie crust this time but will next time. I topped the potatoes with shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe is easy and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tecumseh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Adding taco mix to the ground beef is a nice change to this recipe, also sliced green bean give it a nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
shepherds pie is made using lamb with mashed potatoes on top and cottage pie with beef lol. This is not a shepherds pie. I'm from the uk and this is not how you make it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Everyone loved this! It was my first time making shepards pie, so I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and used a third each of a red and orange bell pepper. Also finely minced a few mushrooms and added a beef bullion cube with a half cup of water, a splash of worcestershire, a tbsp of tomato paste, and a little garlic powder. Also put a half cup of colby jack under the potatoes, and cheated on the potatoes by using a box of a roasted garlic. I didn't have a pie crust so I skipped it, but would try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After reading several of the other reviews, I did adjust the recipe a little. I added McCormick Hamburger Grill Mates, worcestershire sauce and Cayanne to meat, and garlic to the potatoes. I also added a can of nibblets along with the cream corn. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
The meal was easy to prepare and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
a delicious combination and the crust is great. I do not know many people who uses a crust with their shepherds pie recipe including myself, but the crust was definately a delicious touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States