Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
This recipe was really easy! However be sure to season the ground beef before baking it. I also added some tomato paste to give it more body and flavor. Without it would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2001
A delicious, yet fattening meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
I made a couple changes, but this recipe turned out great. I omitted the pie crust, and just used a regular caserole dish. I also omitted the bell peppers, only used half of an onion, and seasoned the meat with salt and pepper, and garlic powder while the meat and onions were browning. I ended up using three large potatoes, which needed about four tablespoons of butter, and about a half a cup of milk (also added salt and pepper to the mashed potatoes). Next time I will probably use an extra half can of regular corn as well, and maybe a little more meat, just to make it a deeper caserole. Overall this was a definite hit that I will make often :) Scarlett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLANGWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I thought for sure my kids would love this recipe because it just sounds "kiddish." If you don't care for creamed corn, then I would try regular corn in half the amount recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I tried this recipe last night with my boyfriend and he loved it! Him and I ate 3 pieces each of the pie. This is a wondeful meal to do. And night we are having leftovers. Thanks for the recipe!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This recipe is a cook`s delight. Very tasty, inexpensive & easy to prepare. It dosen`t get better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This recipe was great, although I made a few changes as well. I used Ground Turkey instead of Beef and just cooked it with onions and seasonings. On top of the mashed potatoes, I added a little bread crumbs and a few pats of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
what a great new recipe to add to my box. the crust was a nice change to the same old pie. Like some others,I too added some spices to the meat. Thanx for the recipe Laurie, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Good recipe, but needs some modifications. I would ditch the pie shell and make this in a 9 x 13 dish, using more meat (1.5 lbs to 2 lbs), and using more seasonings for the meat, including garlic powder, salt, and pepper (I used white pepper, but black would work just as well). Also, be sure to salt & pepper the potatoes when adding in the margarine and milk. Overall, this dish got great reviews from myself and my family! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Totally great. I sauteed onions and green peppers with the meat, used cream style corn, and added onion flakes to the mashed potatoes. I didn't use a pie shell, either. It turns out equally well with ground turkey, which makes it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States