Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have made a variation of this for many years. When my children were small I added spagetti sauce to the browned meat and then added parmesan cheese to the potatoes. I have never used a pie shell but think this might be an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I too changed the recipe a bit. I used 2 lbs. ground beef ( so I would have plenty of leftovers). After browning the meat and onions, I added a can of tomato soup and a can of French Style Green Beans. Put this in a casserole dish, covered with mashed potatoes and brushed with egg yolk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this version and it is good for a quick dinner. My only suggestiuon is to pre-bake the shell and cover edge with foil when baking the pie. Yum, my husband loved it and had left-overs for breaky the next two mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've been making this forever...only I never used a pie shell. I put cooked ground beef and onion in bottom of a casserole bowl, put a layer of creamed corn on top of that, and then mashed potatoes on top of the corn. Cheese can be added on the very top right before baking or a little butter and paprika! I love this stuff...and was glad to see that someone else uses creamed corn! Most people I know use the kernal corn and I don't like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've made shepherd's pie many times and never with a pie shell. I won't be doing that again. If you are going to use this recipe don't use the pie shell. Tastes much better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Cottage Pie is a favorite in my household; this recipe is good, but we prefer it with lots of carrots, peas and corn instead of the peppers. I never use a pie crust, and to the ground beef I add worchestershire sauce and tomato paste for lots of flavor, topped with cheddar cheese mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This combo is not bad, however, the pie shell on bottom is not necessary and I would never use it. I cook my ground beef with onions, peppers ( diced small) garlic, and mushrooms, after I brown it all, drain it, I add about 1/2 cup water and beef bouillon cube and make a beef gravy . Put entire mixture into a pie plate. Top with cream AND regular corn..( or I have made it w/ green beans as well)..Then top with a nice large topping of soft whipped mashed potatoes that you peak up with your spoon so it looks exactly like a meringue on top of a pie. Melt butter and drizzle in the valleys of the mashed potatoes and bake. This is a beautiful dish and can be prepared in individual ramekins for a nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used a pie crust with this, green beans instead of the corn and added cheddar cheese on top of the meat layer and as a garnish on top. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Overall it was good, many of the other recipes don't include the corn, but i think it's definitely missing something without it! We also add diced green peppers and mushrooms to the meat mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel&Erich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was VERY good. My husband loved it. I wouldnt change a thing, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann of CT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States