Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have always made my shepards pie in a crust and everyone loves it. I change a few things like adding stewed tomatoes instead (drain them first) and then just frozen or canned corn sometimes I add other veggies. I add that to the cooked meat and let it warm all up together. Then put in crust top with potatoes & cheese and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great for winter...but we do it even simplier....ground beef browned with onion in bottom of large pot that can go in the oven, drain grease, return meat to pot, top with shredded cheese, I can of peas, top it off with buttered flavored instant mashed potatoes (made according to package directions) little more cheese, bake in oven for like 20-30 minutes to melt the cheese. Easy as "pie"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I have made a variation of this for many years. When my children were small I added spagetti sauce to the browned meat and then added parmesan cheese to the potatoes. I have never used a pie shell but think this might be an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I too changed the recipe a bit. I used 2 lbs. ground beef ( so I would have plenty of leftovers). After browning the meat and onions, I added a can of tomato soup and a can of French Style Green Beans. Put this in a casserole dish, covered with mashed potatoes and brushed with egg yolk. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this version and it is good for a quick dinner. My only suggestiuon is to pre-bake the shell and cover edge with foil when baking the pie. Yum, my husband loved it and had left-overs for breaky the next two mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've been making this forever...only I never used a pie shell. I put cooked ground beef and onion in bottom of a casserole bowl, put a layer of creamed corn on top of that, and then mashed potatoes on top of the corn. Cheese can be added on the very top right before baking or a little butter and paprika! I love this stuff...and was glad to see that someone else uses creamed corn! Most people I know use the kernal corn and I don't like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've made shepherd's pie many times and never with a pie shell. I won't be doing that again. If you are going to use this recipe don't use the pie shell. Tastes much better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Cottage Pie is a favorite in my household; this recipe is good, but we prefer it with lots of carrots, peas and corn instead of the peppers. I never use a pie crust, and to the ground beef I add worchestershire sauce and tomato paste for lots of flavor, topped with cheddar cheese mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This combo is not bad, however, the pie shell on bottom is not necessary and I would never use it. I cook my ground beef with onions, peppers ( diced small) garlic, and mushrooms, after I brown it all, drain it, I add about 1/2 cup water and beef bouillon cube and make a beef gravy . Put entire mixture into a pie plate. Top with cream AND regular corn..( or I have made it w/ green beans as well)..Then top with a nice large topping of soft whipped mashed potatoes that you peak up with your spoon so it looks exactly like a meringue on top of a pie. Melt butter and drizzle in the valleys of the mashed potatoes and bake. This is a beautiful dish and can be prepared in individual ramekins for a nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used a pie crust with this, green beans instead of the corn and added cheddar cheese on top of the meat layer and as a garnish on top. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States