Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Tried this version and it is good for a quick dinner. My only suggestiuon is to pre-bake the shell and cover edge with foil when baking the pie. Yum, my husband loved it and had left-overs for breaky the next two mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've been making this forever...only I never used a pie shell. I put cooked ground beef and onion in bottom of a casserole bowl, put a layer of creamed corn on top of that, and then mashed potatoes on top of the corn. Cheese can be added on the very top right before baking or a little butter and paprika! I love this stuff...and was glad to see that someone else uses creamed corn! Most people I know use the kernal corn and I don't like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I've made shepherd's pie many times and never with a pie shell. I won't be doing that again. If you are going to use this recipe don't use the pie shell. Tastes much better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Cottage Pie is a favorite in my household; this recipe is good, but we prefer it with lots of carrots, peas and corn instead of the peppers. I never use a pie crust, and to the ground beef I add worchestershire sauce and tomato paste for lots of flavor, topped with cheddar cheese mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This combo is not bad, however, the pie shell on bottom is not necessary and I would never use it. I cook my ground beef with onions, peppers ( diced small) garlic, and mushrooms, after I brown it all, drain it, I add about 1/2 cup water and beef bouillon cube and make a beef gravy . Put entire mixture into a pie plate. Top with cream AND regular corn..( or I have made it w/ green beans as well)..Then top with a nice large topping of soft whipped mashed potatoes that you peak up with your spoon so it looks exactly like a meringue on top of a pie. Melt butter and drizzle in the valleys of the mashed potatoes and bake. This is a beautiful dish and can be prepared in individual ramekins for a nice presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I used a pie crust with this, green beans instead of the corn and added cheddar cheese on top of the meat layer and as a garnish on top. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Overall it was good, many of the other recipes don't include the corn, but i think it's definitely missing something without it! We also add diced green peppers and mushrooms to the meat mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel&Erich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was VERY good. My husband loved it. I wouldnt change a thing, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann of CT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Shepherd's pie has always been a favorite of mine--however, my husband is not as fond of it. I made this exactly as stated leaving the green pepper out--and my husband LOVED it. Now I know that I cannot make shepherds pie without a pie shell for my hubby....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Substituted with ground turkey and added some shredded cheddar cheese on top of the creamed corn. The only problem I had with this recipe is that it didn't call for salt & pepper which made me wonder and taste each step. So I salted & peppered the meat with a little garlic powder and salted the water for the potatoes, they came out bland anyway so I added a little salt to the potatoes. Quick & easy but lacked flavor. I think I'll add some fresh garlic and some frozen peas next time. But definitely use the "creamed" corn or it will be dry and fall apart when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States