Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Great. I made this for the first time tonight, and got lots of Kudos!! (A small antarctic coin worth about .035 cents). Kidding aside, I followed the recipe closely and was pleased. It was quick, wholesome and true as presented. I did add a bit of shredded cheddar to the potato crust, and it provide that extra spark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is very good! I didn't have any green pepper, so I omitted it, but added mixed veggies instead. I also didn't use "real" potatoes for the topping. I used instant potatoes instead. Never had Shepherd's Pie before, but I really liked it! My kids (4 and 3) loved it and so did my hubby! I think I will use the filling as a base for beef pot pie...Oh, and I did bake the pie crust in the oven for 10 minutes before filling it, just so that it wasn't soggy. Thanks so much for the base of this recipe. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
My least favorite recipe I have ever gotten from this website. I would have given it zero stars if I could... I'm not sure how this recipe received such a high rating. It has NO flavor at all! We tried putting ketchup in it, like someone suggested in their review... it made it worse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a great dish. This was the first time I had anything like this. I added some sour cream and chese to the potatos. This is deffinately a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I always add cream of mushroom soup to the meat and onions . I've never heard if adding corn or using a pie shell but then again I am in the South so may be the difference. The cream of mushroom makes it so good and rich. I then top the mashed potatoes with garlic and shredded sharp cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon. Yum !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
qiuck and easy got to love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Super Duper.. Made it for my company Christmas week, and it was a total success, my son opted to skip dessert and have a second helping of this Shepherd's pie instead... will make it again soon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEMELU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was great! I didnt watn to spend the time making my own mashed potatoes so I used Betty Crocker Sour Cream and Chive instant and added extra milk so I could "spread" them on the top. I love that this recipe call for a crust! I am so used to just using mashed potato for the crust and everyone in my household loved having an actual crust! Also, I used the deep dish pie crust and I had enuf beef filling for 2 pies so I doubled the corn and the mashed potatoes and then sprinkled a little shredded cheese on top. I also baked these at 400 degrees for about 35 to 40 minutes!Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I also left out the pie crust. I browned the ground beef, with onions, mushrooms, & seasonings. Made a small amount of gravy with the drippings. Put the meat in a casserole dish, pour gravy over it, then the corn, I used half cream & half whole kernal. I added garlic & parmesan cheese when I mashed the potatoes & put it in the oven. About 10 minutes before dinner, I added shredded cheese to the top. My husband & I loved. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
i thought this was great although i used ribeye meat cut in small pieces for the meat . layered the bottom with cresent rolls (layed flat ) . then layered the meat ,corn. potatoes. added chedder cheese all on top of the potatoes . layered the top with the cresent rolls cooked it and served it at my restaurant sold out and customers asking for it again . (home style restaurant vivian louisiana Grumpy's kitchen) thanks for the idea .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States