Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made tonight for supper and it was very quick and easy. Did not use pie crust or peppers, but it was still good. I was surprised. Next time I will use more mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe but found it to be very bland. If you try the recipe, I recommend adding at least some salt and pepper to both the potatoes and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I also use ground beef, but not a pie crust, I start with the meat (and onions and peppers but celery works too for great flavor) then I pour some brown gravy over the top of that. It seeps up into the layer of mashed potatoes on top and it makes it really yummy. I put a thick layer of mashed potatoes (it is after all the best part!) I sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation and any other veggies I serve on the side so that reheating doesn't make it soggy and limp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Let's quicken this up. Once my ground beef & onion are cooked, I push it to the sides of the frying pan so the center is empty. I melt about 1 or 2 tbls of butter in the center and add a little gravy master to that, stirring as I go. I add just a little water to thin it and stir the beef till it's covered with it. That adds great flavor to the meat. I don't use a pie crust. Pour the meat into a casserole, save time by using Simple Potatoes to cover the beef and top with a can of creamed corn.( they are GREAT! )Bake about 30 min at 350! My husband LOVES IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have also been making shepards's pie for a number of years. Never with a pie crust though. I use a thin layer of mashed potatoes at the bottom and start layering meat/gravy/vegetable mixture and ending with a final layer of mashed potatoes topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Any leftover just keep getting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spencer, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My family really likes this recipe. I have been making it for years as it was made when I was growing up. There are some slight differences in how I prepare it though. First of all, I do not use a pie shell. I cook this in a 9x13 pan (which I grease first) & instead of layering the corn & hamburg mixture, I mix it all together (I also use the onion, garlic, parmasean cheese, salt/pepper, Bay's seasoning-you can really mix up your spices with this recipe to help add some "zing"). I use creamed corn AND regular whole kernel corn & I only add a touch of milk to add SOME liquid. Once this is all poured into the 9x13 pan, I then top it with the mashed potatoes & put some salt/pepper/paprika on top & bake at 350 until it starts to bubble. At the very end I will set it on broil (Low) just to help form a little top "crust" on the potatoes (watch this so it will not burn..does not take long). My family loves this. They also like to add a little ketchup to it once it is on their plates for extra flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I made a few changes to this: first I used ground turkey instead of the ground beef and I omitted the chopped onions & peppers to the turkey and added some garlic salt, onion powder and pepper instead. I think next time I'll precook the pie crust for a few minutes beforehand because the crust was slightly soggy but overall the pie tasted great! My husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was wonderful! My family LOVED IT! Just like Grandma used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
this was super easy to make and a huge hit...although I now make it with red or yellow bell peppers instead of green, and I add green peas and I mix it all together before I put it in the crust. I also substitute regular corn for the creamed and make a gravy with the pan drippings for more flavor. Instead of putting the cheese on top of the potatoes, I grate it and mix it in with the potatoes so it doesn't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent and quick and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States