Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I thought it was okay but my girls did not like it at all. Also, I would probably bake the crust a little before you add the ingredients. Mine was a little raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I probably won't be making this recipe again. My family wasn't very fond of it. I didn't think it was bad, but bland. The best part about it were the mashed potatoes with the melted cheddar cheese on top. Otherwise it was okay but not thrilling. Maybe some spices would perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
will make again-very easy--diced onion and gr pepper with chop wizard--next time will season meat and try using turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
My kids loved this! I will make it often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Loved this recipe! It is great as leftovers, just as promised! I added a few things: Onion powder and garlic powder. And I omitted the onion, because of an allergy in the family. Loved it, even my 6 year old enjoyed some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent, though the portions used required that I make 2 pies because of the sheer amount of ground beef and potatoes. If you're using russet potatoes, definitely use 2 instead and not quite so much meat/onion/green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My husband and I thought this was really yummy. I hesitated after seeing some of the mixed reviews. I did prebake the pie shell for about 8 mins. And instead of using just ground beef I used a mixture of ground beef and breakfast sausage. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made tonight for supper and it was very quick and easy. Did not use pie crust or peppers, but it was still good. I was surprised. Next time I will use more mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe but found it to be very bland. If you try the recipe, I recommend adding at least some salt and pepper to both the potatoes and ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I also use ground beef, but not a pie crust, I start with the meat (and onions and peppers but celery works too for great flavor) then I pour some brown gravy over the top of that. It seeps up into the layer of mashed potatoes on top and it makes it really yummy. I put a thick layer of mashed potatoes (it is after all the best part!) I sprinkle the top with paprika for presentation and any other veggies I serve on the side so that reheating doesn't make it soggy and limp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States