Laurie's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Adding taco mix to the ground beef is a nice change to this recipe, also sliced green bean give it a nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
shepherds pie is made using lamb with mashed potatoes on top and cottage pie with beef lol. This is not a shepherds pie. I'm from the uk and this is not how you make it lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Everyone loved this! It was my first time making shepards pie, so I did take the advice of some of the other reviewers and used a third each of a red and orange bell pepper. Also finely minced a few mushrooms and added a beef bullion cube with a half cup of water, a splash of worcestershire, a tbsp of tomato paste, and a little garlic powder. Also put a half cup of colby jack under the potatoes, and cheated on the potatoes by using a box of a roasted garlic. I didn't have a pie crust so I skipped it, but would try it that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Schoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After reading several of the other reviews, I did adjust the recipe a little. I added McCormick Hamburger Grill Mates, worcestershire sauce and Cayanne to meat, and garlic to the potatoes. I also added a can of nibblets along with the cream corn. It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
The meal was easy to prepare and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
a delicious combination and the crust is great. I do not know many people who uses a crust with their shepherds pie recipe including myself, but the crust was definately a delicious touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made it exactly according to the recipe, even taking advice from a previous posting to bake the pie crust before filling it - it was watery, bland and overall not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Let me start off with the negative. When I put all the ingredients in the UNbaked pie shell at only 350, it took much longer than 30 minutes for it to thoroughly bake. If I were to do it again, I'd pre bake the pie crust slightly, then add the remaining layers and bake at recommended time on recipe. Also, many reviewers complained that the recipe lacked flavor. I, personally, feel it is not a recipe that needs a lot of spicing up. Yes, the potatoes need some salt and pepper, but overall, the recipe is good as written. You could also easily substitute another vegetable for the corn to give it a totally different flavor. Having said all that, it was a pretty good recipe. But, if you have a shepherd's pie recipe you already use and enjoy, then stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a great and easy meal for me and my 2 gilrs. I will make this again for them it was very tasty. I just would like to see what the leftovers willl taste like!! It did not say to season the meat but I did with cayenne and black pepper and salt and a lil bit of garlic powder. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I always use this recipe. Simple but good. I don't use the green pepper, but everything else is the same. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States