Lauren's Sugar and Spice Black Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
These are fantastic ! My husband loves me to make mini-cinnamon crumb cupcakes for work. They are so time consuming. I had a box of Krusteaz Cinnamon Crumb Cake mix in the pantry, so I used this recipe ( doubled...the box was 1 lb. 5 oz.), used a 1 1/2" scoop, rolling the sides and top, but not the bottom ( afraid that the sugar would melt and burn the bottom of the cookies), baked for 12 minutes ( the tops did not crack...didn't matter)...made 36 unbelievably great cookies. Now when he asks for his cinnamon cakes, he is getting these ( and I am sure , with no complaints. He hasn't tasted them yet , but I know he will love them.) Thank you soooooo much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I too doubled the recipe because I used Krusteaz brand Cinnamon Crumb Cake mix. When they cool, they become very thin, but crispy and delicious! I was surprised by how much I liked the hint of black pepper. What an interesting cookie. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
The explanation of this cookie does not do it justice. My family has absolutly fallen in love with them! And they're addictive too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved these. I made them and froze them for my Christmas tray. They are so easy to make I will definately make them again. Don't be afraid to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I just made these, and my family loves them. Everyone was skeptical of the black pepper, but it turned out great. I substituted white cake mix for the coffee cake mix, and added my own cinnamon to the cookie dough. For the powder, I mixed cinnamon and confectioners sugar and added it after the cookies baked. Very yummy, unusual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great cookies, everyone that tried them loved them. Although the spice level was a little higher than expected, so next time I plan on cutting back on the cloves. Other than that they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These are absolutely amazing! I did have to add about 3/4 cups of flour. I might add alittle more pepper next time but that would be it. Everyone loved them!!! So good with tea or coffee. Very delicate, not chewey or crunchy or too soft. Baked alittle longer than stated until the tops cracked abit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
How can something that sounds so wrong, taste SOOOOO right? If you love spice cookies you have to try these! Tip: They do get firm once cooled. But, if you like them soft like me, put them in a zip lock bag with a piece of white bread. It keeps them soft for about 3 days. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Not being much of a baker this was a perfect recipe for me. I used Krusteaz Cinnamon Crumb Cake mix (21 oz box) and doubled everything else. I got 3 dozen large, flat, soft, tasty cookies. The cloves and pepper were just enough to keep everyone guessing about the secret ingredients. Well received at home and by co-workers, goes on my "make again" list. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These are wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly. I'm a great cook but not necessarily at baking. These were simple to make. The mix sounds weird but even my 5 and 7 year olds loved them. I'll be making these for Christmas this year. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States