Lauren's Sugar and Spice Black Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Not being much of a baker this was a perfect recipe for me. I used Krusteaz Cinnamon Crumb Cake mix (21 oz box) and doubled everything else. I got 3 dozen large, flat, soft, tasty cookies. The cloves and pepper were just enough to keep everyone guessing about the secret ingredients. Well received at home and by co-workers, goes on my "make again" list. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Wow I was so impresssed with this cookie , I will add to my christmas cookie list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made these for a cowboy/western-themed party, and I had at least three or four people (out of forty-ish there) ask for the recipe! They're very different, and I suppose that some people might not like the difference - I mean, pepper in a cookie is pretty darn weird - but I find that most people just think they're interesting and delicious! And super easy to make, too (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
No one ate them at the cookie contest. I guess the name of the cookie is a turn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
when my husband says 3 times in a row" Man, this is a good cookie!" It's a keeper. I predict a hit at the cookie swap tomorrow; the tiny peppery burn at the end is the delightful surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EllaSay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
EVERYONE in my family likes these. My hubby likens these to ginger snaps as far as the spice level. It's an interesting recipe to have and most likely you won't have someone else bringing the same thing to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved these. I made them and froze them for my Christmas tray. They are so easy to make I will definately make them again. Don't be afraid to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I just made these, and my family loves them. Everyone was skeptical of the black pepper, but it turned out great. I substituted white cake mix for the coffee cake mix, and added my own cinnamon to the cookie dough. For the powder, I mixed cinnamon and confectioners sugar and added it after the cookies baked. Very yummy, unusual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These are absolutely amazing! I did have to add about 3/4 cups of flour. I might add alittle more pepper next time but that would be it. Everyone loved them!!! So good with tea or coffee. Very delicate, not chewey or crunchy or too soft. Baked alittle longer than stated until the tops cracked abit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I too doubled the recipe because I used Krusteaz brand Cinnamon Crumb Cake mix. When they cool, they become very thin, but crispy and delicious! I was surprised by how much I liked the hint of black pepper. What an interesting cookie. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States