Lauren's Cincinnati Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I grew up in Cincinnati, eating Skyline Chili EVERY Friday night. Since then, I've become a vegetarian, but still longed for my Cincy Chili fix every now and then. I used this recipe, without altering it aside from using Morningstar Farms "crumbles" in place of the ground beef. It came out great, and definitely what I remembered from all those years ago. Thanks, Lauren, for sharing your recipe. I'm going to go pig out on a bit of nostalgia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very easy recipe and exceptional taste. Another one of those recipes that tastes better a day or two later. It has a bit of a kick to it so you may want to cut back the cayenne pepper to a 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe for chili dogs (coneys) the kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kings Mills, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good! exactly like it should be. The taste may be somewhat of an acquired one however. We love it! 8/1/11 made it again and it was great. I used sweet chocolate(didnt have anything else), diced tomatoes instead of sauce. Still super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was a hit with my hubs! My 2 kids ages 5 and 7 didn't care for it, but heck they won't even eat chicken noodle soup. The spice blend is amazing and will rock your taste buds. For the person who made this for a chili cook-off and only gave one star, this is not something that is suited for a chili cook-off event, unless it is a Cincinatti Chili cook-off, which you would surely win with this recipe! This is a taste and tradition born in this midwest region, and now for everyone to try with this recipe! Make sure to serve it with shredded cheddar cheese, red kidney beans, and diced sweet raw onions! I added one tsp. of chili powder also. Thanks Laruren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was one terrific chili, Lauren. Native Ohioans can argue about the best "copy cat" recipes, but this one is truly delicious and easy. I just browned the beef, and mixed all of the ingredients the night before. I placed this in the crockpot on low for twelve hours the next day (yup, really busy day!) and it was delicious over pasta. I added a tad more salt to taste, only tweak. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Excellent! This recipe was the best I have made in dozens of attempts! Very close to Skyline. No more buying Skyline in cans for me here in Texas! ONE HUGE TIP - The texture of Cinci chile should be very smooth. Use an immersion blender in the pot to wiz it to that consistency. No visible pieces of meat, onion, etc. When you put it on your dog (not the one with the fur) most of the liquid should seep through into the bun leaving the solids sitting on top. Same if putting over spaghetti. The oystercrackers are there to soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
As a Cincinnatian, I serve this chili over spaghetti, with chopped onion, and kidney beans! Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I've tried several Cincinnati Chili recipes and this is the best! My friend said it was better than Skyline's, which is greasier. This is probably because I used a leaner beef and put the beef in a pot of cold water, brought to almost a boil, skimmed the foam and drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This chili was THE BOMB! It was really simple to make, and it is not time consuming if you make it in a slow cooker, which is what I did. Whole family loved it and everyone had seconds. I was guilty of eating at least three bowls in one sitting myself! :) Fun tip: Play "Guess the Secret Ingredient" with your family. No one except my mom and I could tell that chocolate was the secret ingredient in this rich, suculent chili. Thx for sharing Lauren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAC Baby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States