Laura's Unbelievable Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
this recipe is good, but excellent if you doctor it up a little. while sauteing the chicken, add garlic, diced onions, chopped mushrooms & fresh basil. before you serve, top with shredded romano or parmesean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
At 4pm on Wednesday afternoon--telephone call from friends who found themselves in town for the evening. My car was in the shop so no way to run to the grocers. Then I recalled seeing a couple of recipes that I thought I had ingredients for and found this one. IT WAS A HIT!!! I used leftover peppered chicken breasts, sliced and warmed. No fresh tomatoes, so I used Del Monte canned tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano. Tossed in more garlic (never enough of that)and some fresh basil. When I served it: Drained and put the pasta on a large serving platter, poured the sauce over it, placed the warm chicken breast slices nicely over the sauce--added some fresh basil sprigs. It was a delicious as it was beautiful. I also made a topping (for on the side) of italian bread crumbs, chopped garlic,and fresh grated romano cheese. Threw that in a skillet and lightly browned it--tasted yummy over the pasta. Served it with some warm vienna bread. Everyone asked for the recipe and I felt like the local Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
this was an easy recipe. i had to add onion and garlic per other reviews. i hid some mushrooms and grated carrot too. however i used a can of cream of chicken soup instead of broth which made it much creamer with out more cheese. ground black pepper will bring out the missing flavor of this dish. sprinkle with Parm. cheese and flakes of red pepper. its a winner! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I didn't follow this recipe exactly so I'm not sure how fair it is to review. I'm going to do it anyway. I modified things quite a bit but the bones of the recipe are good. Instead of using cream cheese, I used whipping cream, milk and fresh parmesan cheese to make a sauce. I browned chicken pieces in a skillet with olive oil, onion and garlic until the onions were a little carmelized. I also added sauteed mushrooms, a handful of capers, about 6 sun-dried tomatoes (chopped into small pieces) and red pepper flakes for spice. I drained the spinach well and chopped it very fine. We topped it with more parmesan. This was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This is SO extremely good and easy. My family loves it and its great still warm or as a cold pasta salad the next day. I added a pack of Italian mix too, and highly recommend doing so. Fast, easy and awesome, thanks for our latest family favorite!!!! If you want it more creamy add a pack of buttermilk ranch dressing mix instead of Italian. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I used leftover chicken breasts and fresh spinach. I also skipped the tomatoes. This was really good; my only complaint is that my husband ate so much I didn't get to save any leftovers!:) I bet it would be good with fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Took the advice of others and gave it some flavor with fresh mushrooms, onions, pressed garlic and s & p. It is very good! The kids like it and it's easy. It doesn't have much sauce for the whole pound of pasta, so I would maybe add some cream or more cream cheese, maybe another 4 oz-especially if you are going to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Not one to make again. Gave two stars because it is a mix of good ingredients and it makes a generous amount. But it is very bland. The sauce is thin. Even adding salt, pepper, parsley, chopped onion, fresh garlic, oregano and shaved parmesan it lacked flavour. To doctor it up any further would be a whole different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I gave this 4 stars because I agree with other reviewers, it is a great starting point. Here is what I did- sauteed the cut up chicken in a little olive oil and chopped fresh garlic with salt and pepper. Then simmered in the chicken broth, added the cream cheese, added a box of creamed spinach instead of plain, and followed it up with a can of diced tomatoes. It made ALOT! But my kids enjoyed it, top with a little parmesean and it is a good weeknight meal. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erika H.
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Perfect! And It had my 3yr old eating spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States