Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
EXCELLENT! This will be a regular on my recipe rotation. I took the recommendations from many of the other comments: - 1 can chopped tomatoes with chiles in place of one can of soup - 1 can white beans instead of red kidney (I don't like the red ones) - 1 can of corn (great addition and adds color!) - 1 (4oz) can green chiles - 1/2 can extra water - I cooked the onion with the meat I browned the onion and meat the night before and put measured out the spices into a bowl. In the morning, it took less than 10 minutes to throw it all together and go. My husband had 3 bowls! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
892 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a great base for a slow cooker turkey chili. If you omit the red pepper flakes and replace one can of the tomato soup with a can of tomatoes with green chilis, this recipe is VERY kid friendly. When I want a more spicy version (I love spicy food!), I only add between 1/4 and 1/2 teaspoons of the red pepper flakes. An entire teaspoon simmering all day in a slow cooker will blow out your sinuses! In addition to the black beans, I also used both dark and light red kidney beans to make it more festive. This recipe is a keeper in my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is great chili! I made two pots two cold days in a row! I followed the recommendations of other reviewers: I used one can of diced tomatoes with green chilis in place of one can of tomato soup. I cut the chili powder in half (it was still spicy!), added a bit of water, and added jalepenos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! Absolutely delicious! I took the advice of some others and only added 1 can of tomato soup, but also put in 2 cans of diced tomatoes. We like spicy food so I added some diced green chiles and a couple of chopped jalapeno peppers. My husband HATES ground turkey, but he had seconds of this chili. Thanks so much for a healthy recipe that tastes like its not! I could seriously eat this twice a week and not get tired of it... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is one spicy chili! I only used one can of kidney beans - 2 cans would have been overload, also used the other suggestions and used one can tomato soup and one can diced tomatoes with green chiles...added 1/2 can of water so I had no complaints on it being too thick. Also added a few sprinkles of hot sauce - not sure if that is what made it extra spicy or just the fact I added a little more than the 2 Tbsp of Chili powder. Omitted allspice and you would never know. I would have to say this is a keeper but would definitely NOT give it to my 2 1/2 year old, much to spicy! Perfect with bread, a little cheese and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This was wonderful. I substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the tomato soup. Perfect meal for a chili (haha)day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mermaid369
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
our very first time making chili, and it came out so good! we like it SPICY so we added one habernero pepper seeded & chopped, one small can of diced jalapenos, and half a tablespoon of tobasco. i was worried at first that the jalapenos would be overkill, but all that time in the slow cooker seemed to mellow the flavors while infusing them into everything. also added diced fresh red and green bell peppers and replaced the tomato soup with diced tomatoes. our neighbors who used to run a restaurant in baja loved it! and so healthy on top of everything. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I thought this was GREAT! The only thing I changed was I added a can of chopped tomatoes instead of one of the cans of tomato soup. It was a little thicker than I would have liked but was still great especially for dipping with tortillas. Next time I will use more spices - I like my chili a bit spicier. Overall a great spin on chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is an awesome, low-fat chili! My boyfriend made this today for the first snowfall of the year, and I think we may have started a tradition. He added two chopped jalapenos and one anaheim chili, as well as one can of chopped tomatoes (drained). He omitted the allspice as we had none on hand. The end result was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Didn't have measuring spoons (we just moved and I can't find half my stuff) so I guess-timated and it still turned out great. My boyfriend had two huge servings and took the rest for lunch today at work. Easy recipe. We topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled crackers. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States