Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This has become my go-to for turkey chili, but I did make a couple of changes. I use a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato soup. I cook the onion with the ground turkey, too. Sometimes I use white beans instead of black, but not always. It freezes well and makes a great topping for a taco salad, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This chili is wonderful. Great tasting with the right amount of spice. My family enjoyed it very much. Will continue to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Loved it! Did as recommended, used 1 can chopped tomatoes instead of soup, added 1 can of corn, 1 can green chiles, 1/2 can extra water, and a little chipotle and tomato paste. Great served with cheese, sour cream, cornbread, fresh lime squeeze, hot sauce and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I prefer things a bit milder, so I halved all of the strong spices, and it still had enough of a kick for me. Other changes - used vegetarian "beef" instead of turkey, which worked out really nicely, especially if you are not into meat; added corn and 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes in lieu of black beans and second can of Campbell's tomato soup, respectively, as per advice of a previous reviewer. Also added cinnamon and pumpkin spice for a slightly sweet flavor, and as someone else suggested, used a towel to line the lid so the liquid doesn't drip into the chili and make it too liquidy. 4 hours on "high" was still not enough to get a lot of the liquid out, so I gave it closer to 5, and it was still somewhat soupy, but I actually liked it that way, so that was okay. Next time, I'll add 1 can of pumpkin puree as suggested by another recipe, to give it even more of a sweeter flavor - I really like when you can feel both the spicy and the sweet flavors equally strongly and sense the texture and taste of the chunky pieces of "meat," beans and corn in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a great and fast recipe for chili.... made with can green Chile's and add more water ...my friends loved it ... now I have to make more next week ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenjoy
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I have a pre-schooler, so I took the advice to skip the red pepper flakes and substitute a can of tomatoes with green chiles for one of the cans of tomato soup. I also added half a soup can of water. Cooked on high 4 hours, topped with grated cheddar, ditched my spoon and ate with Tostitos multi-grain scoops! :) Yum! Two adults and a pre-schooler finished it off!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is a great recipe... I use 2 cans of mixed beans, 1 can black beans, 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes, 1 can tomatoe soup, 1 can diced chili's and 2 lbs ground turkey. You could vary with whatever you have in cupboard! This is a keeper and a great crock pot recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious. I added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
A very meaty chili. Nice flavor but it wasn't enough liquid for me. I added extra diced tomatoes and a little tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the recipes as written but, as suggested, did 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomatoes with green chilis. I added another 4oz can of green chilis. Cooked in high for about 3:30 hours. I didn't like this chili. It was bland. I think I'm done trying turkey chilis I can't find one I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States