Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very good but I substituted a can of chopped tomatoes for one of the tomato soups and added jalapenos (we like it spicy) and some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As written I think it deserves 4 1/2 stars. I added more spices to bring on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobyn42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
It came out too spicy. I tried what the other reviewers have recommended/said: 1 can of tomato with green chili, in place of one of the tomato soup, and I also omitted the red pepper flakes to make it kid friendly, but it was still not kid-friendly at all. Furthermore, per recipe 2 tablespoon of chili powder - I only put 1 tablespoon, but it was still too spicy. I like spicy food, but this is too spicy and my toddler can't eat it. I had a little stomachache after eating a cup. I recommend to just stick with the 2 cans of tomato soup, don't substitute the 1 can of tomato soup with 1 can of tomato with chili. Also don't put the red pepper flakes and hold-off on adding the whole 2 tablespoons of chili powder; you might need to adjust it according to your liking. This is way too spicy for me. Other than that, overall, it has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have been craving chili for a long time. Looked at a lot of recipes. Made this today...just finished a bowl for lunch! Took the advice of other reviewers, but i used diced tomatoes without salt added. The other substitutions i made were using 1 can of low sodium kidney beans, low sodium black beans, red onion and half a pound of hot turkey sausage. I omitted the all spice and added a couple table spoons of bacon bits. Took a nap and wake up to find out my very picky daugther who does not like black beans had already eaten 2 bowls (black beans and all.) She has been know to pick every piece of something she does not like from her food. Had mine...soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Such tasty, fulfilling and healthy chili! Of course beef adds a lot more flavor because of the oils but that's why turkey makes you feel so much better about eating it. I also like the thickness and consistently of it. I omitted a can of kidney beans as I'm not the biggest fan and I still thought it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My notes: I had 2.5 lb of extra lean gr turkey. Fried 2 onions and 2 minced garlic cloves in olive oil after browning turkey. Added 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes,1 19 oz can black beans, 1 28 oz can red kidney beans, 1 large can tomato sauce. Only added 1.3 Tb chili, and the rest of the spices as suggested (not doubled). Put all in a pot heated on stove top then put in the oven at 350F for 3 hours then reduced heat to 325F for one hour (it may have been ok then but supper was still an hour away). Added 1 can of corn niblets before serving. 5 stars My husband also loves the Chunky Chili Cornbread Cobbler made with ground beef found here :http://www.canadianliving.com/food/chunky_chili_cornbread_cobbler.php I make this one in the oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I am a beginner cook who just moved out of my parents a few months ago.My boyfriend bought me a slow cooker and this was the first recipe we tried out. This was extremeley easy to make and came out delicious. I don't like my chili hot so I completely omitted the red pepper flakes. I read the reviewer suggestions below and I too swapped one can of tomato soup for one can of diced tomatoes. I added only one can of red kidney beans and instead added a can of mexicorn(corn with red and green bell peppers) and half a can green chillies. I also added half a can of water because it was rather thick. I didn't have all spice so I replaced that with a pinch of cinnamon which actually did a good job cutting the acidity. Will definitley be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've made this countless times and it has become a staple in our home! Super easy, the only thing I change is adding a can of corn! We love topping it with shredded cheese, sour cream and broken up tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Forgot one can of kidney beans but was perfect with out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I wanted to try a different chili so gave this recipe a go. It was alright but I will definitely go back to my usual chili recipe. There are some things missing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States