Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I Always make changes to the recipe but stayed true to what people recommended. Browned the turkey with the onion but seasoned with dashes of Worcestershire sauce, lemon pepper, lime juice, and Tony Cacheres seasoning. Also added a red and green bell pepper, can of corn. Replaced one can of soup with can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. Added 4oz can of green chiles. Only used one can of red kidney and one can of black beans. Cut chili powder and red flakes in half. word!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heyt Ball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was exactly what I was looking for! Great tasting chili minus the hassle. I followed other reviewers and in place of one can of tomato soup I subbed a can of diced tomatoes with chili's. I also cooked the onion (I used a whole onion) with the turkey prior to adding it to the crock pot. I didn't have allspice so I didn't use it. This is going to be my go to recipe! I didn't find it to be too spicy at all - but I love spicy so maybe that's just me. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This chili is very good. I usually find ground turkey recipes to be a bit bland, but this is not bland at all. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used one can of tomato soup and one can of Rotel, but with the Rotel and 2 tbsp of chili powder, it was WAY too spicy for me. I bumped it down to 1 tbsp of chili powder on my next attempt. I do not have allspice, but I added some Sam Adam's Winter Lager and that worked out well. This will become a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Made this tonight. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Was very yummy, especially the next day. Made an alteration, substituted 2 cans of chopped tomatoes instead of the the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This chili is delicious and really easy to prep! In addition to the tomato sauce, I added diced tomatoes and another 1/2 of water. I added 1.5 times the suggested kidney beans, because I didn't have black beans. Rather than canned beans, I added dried beans. I also added 2 chopped up jalapenos and a few mushrooms. I cooked the onion with the meat before throwing them into the slow cooker. Make sure you cut up the ground turkey before cooking them or else you'll have huge chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I have made this chili 4 or 5 times now. I don't know why they specify draining the beans - I had to add 3 cups of broth to make the chili "wet" enough when I did that- so I don't anymore. I also use tomato puree instead of soup (1 can) and follow someone else's suggestion to add the diced tomatoes and green peppers instead of the 2nd can of soup. I, too, add a pkg of frozen corn. A few slight modifications and a perfect, easy dinner loved by everyone except our vegetarian - though I'm considering making it without the meat and adding it when I serve so he can eat, too :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I really liked this chili and will more likely make it again. I am not a big fan of heat or spice, so I only did about 1/8 tsp of red pepper flakes and 1 Tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon of the chili powder. For the kidney beans I used one can each of pink and pinto beans. It was what I had and I just prefer them. My only real issue is the sodium level. I would definitey opt for low-sodium canned goods. As my crock-pot is an older model and I wanted to make sure the soup was done in the 3-4 hour range I did sauté the onions in the oil, until soft, then added the ground turkey to the pan. This was good garnished with a little shredded cheddar, and jalepenos, on top, as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Made this tonight & loved it! My husband said he was just going to have one cup & ended up eating 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is the easiest, great tasting recipe. I used one and one-half times the turkey, beans, and soup which made for a very hearty meal. I will likely add some diced tomatoes to it to give it a little more texture. Served it with honey cornbread and honey butter for Christmas Eve. It likely will become our tradition based on the ease of preparing and the taste. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States