Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
When my husband discovered we were having this for dinner he complained because he is a big fan of my typical ground beef chili. After eating, he "guessed it was ok" as he went back for seconds, and polished off the remainder the next day! I kept with all the spices and used Ro-tel tomatoes instead of tomato soup after reading other reviews, and I felt this was too much spice. Next time, I think I will keep true to the recipe as it is probably fine the way it is stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is definitely one of my favorite slow cooker recipes. Didn't change a thing and it was so hearty and good. Skeptics of ground turkey probably won't be able to tell it's not ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is my most favorite recipe I've ever made from this site. I've made it probably 20 times. It freezes super well too so when I don't feel like cooking, I'll pull some out in the morning and let defrost in the fridge. I've taken suggestions from reviews and have made some changes as well. I substituted one can of tomato soup for a can of diced tomatoes. I also add a can of white beans and a can of corn, drained. It's also better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I love this recipe. It's so easy that I make it at least once a month and it stays in the fridge for about a week providing a quick on the go meal. I use all low-sodium beans when I can, I substitute one of the cans of tomato soup for a can of Southwestern style diced tomatoes and green chilies, I also add a little tomato paste as well as some extra green chilies. And on top of all that I will add one or two more extra cans of beans. It could be chili beans which is pinto beans in chili sauce and/or some white beans, Low-sodium of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was my first time making chili and it was amazing! This recipe was awesome. My family likes spicy so this was perfect for us. We topped it with a little shredded mozzarella and served it with crusty french bread. I will definitely be making this easy recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Easy and came out great! Like the other reviewers I modified slightly, replacing soup with 1 can sliced tomatoes, adding the equivalent of one can of frozen corn and 1/2 cup water. Followed spices but skipped allspice as we didn't have it. Added 2 green chilies and 1 and a half Jalapenos as we like spice. Also liked this recipe because it fit in my smaller size crockpot and made 4-6 servings which is about right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this over the weekend and it was a hit! I followed some alterations that were in the comments. I exchanged a can of tomato soup with a can of diced tomatoes with green chili (mild) and I also added 1/2 can of mild green chilis. Perfect amount of spice. I also added a can of corn which added a nice crunch. Also, something that is probably common sense but I thought might be helpful is to add to drain the cans of beans before adding them to the pot. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Such a good base! however I did use one can diced tomatoes and a small tin of diced green chilies in loo of tomato sauce. I also cooked the onion with the turkey in the skillet. Made the blue corn corn bread to go with it and my boyfriend LOVED IT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent recipe!!! I added a can of diced tomato with olive oil and green chile to the recipe. The diced tomato with olive oil cut down the spiceness and hotness of the recipes. But the end product still had a kick. My audience loved the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by durhamnc99

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is an easy, good and hearty recipe. As others suggested, I substitured the 2 cans of soup for 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Also substituted one can of kidney beans for pinto beans instead - just to have a greater variety. I also only included 1 tbsp of chili powder, as that is enough, and added a chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States