Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Made this last night. Hubby loved it!! Used Rotel tomatoes, pinto beans in place of kidney beans, 1 can of chopped green chilies & a can of corn. Live in Texas...so like it spicy!! Anyway, is low cal, comparatively so will make again. Try with corn bread muffins!!! YUMMY Thanks, Laura, for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe but we wanted a little bit more kick so i'm adding half an habanero and we'll see if i'm still alive to update how it is. Also, I didn't use the hot flakes since i added the pepper. Last I used regular tomato soup since I couldn't find the low-sodium one. I obviously left out the salt since the soup adds enough sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good. I also took others advice and cut back on kidney beans and added, corn and some water too. Side of cornbread and you have a super easy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
LOVED IT! This was a hit with the the whole family! Made a couple changes-didn't use the soup, as I didn't want the high-fructose corn syrup, so I subbed with 1 can of Hunt's Natural tomato sauce and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis, cut the red pepper flakes to a ½ tsp (my younger daughter can't do too spicy), used 1 can each of organic black beans organics dark red kidney beans (drained and rinsed), and used pumpkin pie spice in place of the allspice because that was all I had. Didn't use any extra water and the consistency was perfect. Topped with 2% sharp cheddar and diced white onions (for my helping) and it was fabulous! I was so sure that my younger daughter (17) wouldn't like it, as she actually said “ewww" when I told her I was making chili, but she loved it! This will definitely be a regular on the menu! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Wow. Quick, simple, healthy with some heat and very yummy. It was great. I did add one can of "hot" diced green chili's, but otherwise made exactly as written. Topped with shredded cheddar, a little sour cream and a few crushed Frito Corn Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I love this recipe! It has become a favorite of my husband and I. I use a roasted red pepper tomato soup, and fresh chopped garlic instead of the powder. I also add extra onion. I also use a packet of chili seasoning along with the cumin and a little less of the chili powder recommended. I don't have any allspice on hand so I leave that out too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was my first experience with a slow cooker. I hate tomatoes so no chunky tomatoes in this recipe is what attracted me. I did everything that the recipe said, except for the allspice- Don't have it, don't even know what it is. I did had 1/2 a can of beer, a little hot sauce and no salt. I planned on the 8 hour cook time since I had to work. I stopped home and checked on it at the 6 hour mark and IT WAS PERFECT!!! I was SO EXCITED!!! I left well enough alone, still cooking on low, for another 2 hours. I came home only to find dried out paste with barely any flavor. It was PERFECT earlier. So spicy it cleared my sinuses! I loved it! So, I would recommend that 6 hours is the max you should cook it. I'm going to try it again when I can be around to turn it off at 6 hours. So disappointed but that's my own fault. It was REALLY AWESOME before it over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
it was my first time making chilli. it came out so delicious!!!! thank you for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was my first time marking a chili and it turned out amazing!! I added fresh mushrooms and celery to the recipe. I also substituted I can of tomato soup for a can of diced tomatoes for some extra texture. I will definitely make this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States