Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
i used one package extra lean turkey, one package lean turkey - sauteed in oil with one chopped onion, spray crock pot with pam, add turkey, 1 bag frozen corn, 1 (10 oz) can tomato soup, one (15 oz) can black beans, one (15 oz) can kidney beans, 3 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes, 2 T chili powder, 1 t red pepper flakes, 1 T garlic powder, 1 T cumin, salt and pepper to taste. Came out great a little too spicy for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I loved this, but like others, I omitted the tomato soup. Instead I used 1 can no-sodium diced tomatoes, 1 can Rotel tomatoes w/ chiles and added 3/4 can of water. Only used 2 cans of beans (pinto & black) - the perfect bean-to-meat ratio unless you really like a lot of beans. I also only added 1 TBSP plus 1/4 tsp chili powder and omitted the pepper flakes. I seasoned with cayenne pepper and sea salt to taste after cooking (am a bit of a spice wimp). Used one small onion and browned with the meat and fresh garlic. Been eating this for the last few days, and I love every bite!! Probably the best chili I have ever had (so glad I left out the kidney beans since I don't care a lot for them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great tasting chili! I made the "unhealthy" version of this by substituting 90% lean ground beef and Italian pork sausage for the turkey. I browned the meat with the onion, and a teaspoon of garlic and Worcestershire sauce. Also, like others, I wasn't so sure about the tomato soup. So, in lieu of the tomato soup, I used 8oz can of tomato paste; 15oz can of tomato sauce; 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and a small can of diced tomatoes with chillies....like my chili with a bit more tomato zing. Got great reviews from the folks we had over for the game and chili too! they all said it was pretty spicy though (i did reduce the amount of red pepper flakes...still pretty spicy tho). Next time, I'll probably reduce that a bit more. I like it spicy, but that's just me. If making for others, it's best to keep the spice down, and let them dice it up themselves with hot sauce and/or red pepper if they wish. Finally, I also added some frozen corn to the slow cooker. Added nice color, texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Culhan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is my favorite chili! I made it as directed except I added a half a can of water along with the 2 cans of soup. My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! My husband (who claims to not like chili) has asked me to make this every week for the past three weeks. So easy, so delicious. I didn't change a thing except lowered the amount of red pepper flakes to a sprinkle, since we're wimps when it comes to spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Flory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good, but not great. Not too spicy. Thicker than I expected (which is good). Definitely need to coat the sides of the slow cooker with spray to make clean up easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made this dish exactly the way the recipe states. My husband and I loved it just the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Amy made this chili the last day of our visit to TX - it was so awesome I badgered her into adding it to the family recipe box - thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hermanson
Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
OK, not great. I like my version of chili better...using MiCielo, or homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My boyfriend and roommate thought this was delicious. I liked the amount of spice, but I don't like things super hot. If you wanted it to be spicier, there's definitely room for that. I used the following main ingredients instead of exactly what was listed and it was great. -One can black beans -One can red kidney beans -One can of white beans -One can of semi-sweet corn -One can of low sodium tomato juice -One can of diced tomatoes with jalapeños -One 4 ounce can of green chiles Don't forget the following toppings. Yum! -Cilantro -Chedder cheese -Avocado -Nonfat greek yogurt or sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States