Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a good chili. I enjoyed the change to ground turkey meat. The tomato soup added a creamy texture that most chili doesn't have. I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Super easy and delicious. I did take advice after reading MANY reviews and added a can of rotel w/chiles instead of a second can of soup. Also used 20oz ground turkey which was right on par with the amount of beans. Omitted the allspice since I didn't have it. The reason for 4 stars is because the suggested cooking time is off as others have stated. It is easily done in 6 hours on low before it starts sticking to the pot and that was with adding 1/2 can of water. Overall it was great and will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raych04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Made this last night. Hubby loved it!! Used Rotel tomatoes, pinto beans in place of kidney beans, 1 can of chopped green chilies & a can of corn. Live in Texas...so like it spicy!! Anyway, is low cal, comparatively so will make again. Try with corn bread muffins!!! YUMMY Thanks, Laura, for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe but we wanted a little bit more kick so i'm adding half an habanero and we'll see if i'm still alive to update how it is. Also, I didn't use the hot flakes since i added the pepper. Last I used regular tomato soup since I couldn't find the low-sodium one. I obviously left out the salt since the soup adds enough sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good. I also took others advice and cut back on kidney beans and added, corn and some water too. Side of cornbread and you have a super easy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
LOVED IT! This was a hit with the the whole family! Made a couple changes-didn't use the soup, as I didn't want the high-fructose corn syrup, so I subbed with 1 can of Hunt's Natural tomato sauce and 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis, cut the red pepper flakes to a ½ tsp (my younger daughter can't do too spicy), used 1 can each of organic black beans organics dark red kidney beans (drained and rinsed), and used pumpkin pie spice in place of the allspice because that was all I had. Didn't use any extra water and the consistency was perfect. Topped with 2% sharp cheddar and diced white onions (for my helping) and it was fabulous! I was so sure that my younger daughter (17) wouldn't like it, as she actually said “ewww" when I told her I was making chili, but she loved it! This will definitely be a regular on the menu! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Wow. Quick, simple, healthy with some heat and very yummy. It was great. I did add one can of "hot" diced green chili's, but otherwise made exactly as written. Topped with shredded cheddar, a little sour cream and a few crushed Frito Corn Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I love this recipe! It has become a favorite of my husband and I. I use a roasted red pepper tomato soup, and fresh chopped garlic instead of the powder. I also add extra onion. I also use a packet of chili seasoning along with the cumin and a little less of the chili powder recommended. I don't have any allspice on hand so I leave that out too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was my first experience with a slow cooker. I hate tomatoes so no chunky tomatoes in this recipe is what attracted me. I did everything that the recipe said, except for the allspice- Don't have it, don't even know what it is. I did had 1/2 a can of beer, a little hot sauce and no salt. I planned on the 8 hour cook time since I had to work. I stopped home and checked on it at the 6 hour mark and IT WAS PERFECT!!! I was SO EXCITED!!! I left well enough alone, still cooking on low, for another 2 hours. I came home only to find dried out paste with barely any flavor. It was PERFECT earlier. So spicy it cleared my sinuses! I loved it! So, I would recommend that 6 hours is the max you should cook it. I'm going to try it again when I can be around to turn it off at 6 hours. So disappointed but that's my own fault. It was REALLY AWESOME before it over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States