Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was my first experience with a slow cooker. I hate tomatoes so no chunky tomatoes in this recipe is what attracted me. I did everything that the recipe said, except for the allspice- Don't have it, don't even know what it is. I did had 1/2 a can of beer, a little hot sauce and no salt. I planned on the 8 hour cook time since I had to work. I stopped home and checked on it at the 6 hour mark and IT WAS PERFECT!!! I was SO EXCITED!!! I left well enough alone, still cooking on low, for another 2 hours. I came home only to find dried out paste with barely any flavor. It was PERFECT earlier. So spicy it cleared my sinuses! I loved it! So, I would recommend that 6 hours is the max you should cook it. I'm going to try it again when I can be around to turn it off at 6 hours. So disappointed but that's my own fault. It was REALLY AWESOME before it over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
it was my first time making chilli. it came out so delicious!!!! thank you for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was my first time marking a chili and it turned out amazing!! I added fresh mushrooms and celery to the recipe. I also substituted I can of tomato soup for a can of diced tomatoes for some extra texture. I will definitely make this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
May replace my previous favorite chili recipe! Didn't use all the spice though, to make it kid friendly. Used the full chili powder, but reduced red pepper flakes to 1/4 teaspoon. Also replaced one can of tomato soup with plain diced tomatoes. Next time I will try the tomatoes with green chiles as others have suggested (just didn't have any on hand). Used only one can of kidney beans with the black beans, but compensenated with 20 oz. of turkey instead of the 16 oz in the recipe. I used about a half a soup can of water, but next time I will use at least a full can, as I had to add some water at the end of cooking time (we're used to more soup-y chili). My 7 year old had 3 bowls of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This chili was amazing. I was struggling to pick a recipe for a soup exchange and came by this. It was the hit of the exchange. So easy too. Be sure to make enough for leftovers, it seemed even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Reddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Wth several modifications, based on the first review I read which was very positive with changes. For those of us who do not like hot food, my rendition has the tiniest bite, but it is NOT hot. I used one can of condensed tomato soup, adding one can of water and one can of crushed tomatoes. I left in the 4oz of green chilies; they are a nice addition without adding too much hot. I also browned the onions with the browning of the ground turkey. My chili powder is quite hot, so I added one, not two tbls of chili powder and did not add the red pepper flakes. Red kidney beans are not my favorite, so I used two cans of white (northern) beans, one can of black beans and added one can of corn. I cooked the chili in a slow cooker for 8 hours on low. To make it more Weight Watchers' friendly, I served the chili with plain Greek yogurt on top, instead of sour cream. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Wow. Never used ground turkey before, even planned an alternate dinner for hubby. It turned out wonderfully. Did what others suggest - I can of tomato soup and one of chopped tomatoes with chilies. Opted to omit all other HOTS. great results for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was a very easy chili recipe! I also threw in a red bell pepper that I had in my fridge. Made lots of left-overs, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States