Laura's Lemon Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe has a lot of butter, so I did cut back on the oil. I zested the lemon and added it to the recipe, and I'll even add more lemon juice the next time, but it still was pretty darn tasty. I cut the potatoes into 1" to 1-1/2" cubes, and next time, I'll cube them a little larger. Timing will depend on the size of your potatoes, and mine were cooked at 30 minutes. I lined the baking pan with regular aluminum foil, and they did stick to the foil. I forgot about the non-stick Reynolds Wrap I have, but will use that in the future. Very nice, full-flavored side dish, enjoyed, and definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Really, really good. The flavor of these was fantastic (prepared exactly as the recipe is stated), and they get nice and crisp. The only reason this isn't getting five stars from me is that I wish the potatoes had a stronger lemon flavor. My benchmark for these might be too high (I made this because of how good the lemon potatoes are at the most amazing Greek restaurant ever), but the ones I love have a more distinct lemon flavor. I will definitely make these again, though....everyone liked them, from grandpa all the way down to the two-year-old..... but I am going to try to tweak by adding more lemon juice. I will admit that I didn't read everyone's reviews (which may have addressed this) like I normally do, so I wasn't as informed as I should have been :) All around a thumbs up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! We could not stop eating them. I used small red potatoes with skin on and cut them into bite sized pieces. Since it was two of us, I cut back on the butter and oil but the ratio was the same. I used evoo, not canola oil. With the fresh garlic, dried dill and the juice of one lemon it was perfectly seasoned. I cooked it for nearly one hour to make sure the potatoes had a nice crust, stirring them several times. If you used fresh dill, that could account for the lack of flavor. Dried dill is my choice in any dish that calls for that pronounced taste. Fresh dill is very mild and you need a lot of it to get the same results. I cannot imagine subbing chicken broth for the oil and/or butter. Not the same dish at all. Please make this as written, you will not be disappointed. We served it with grilled strip steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I have made this recipe frequently throughout the last few years. I love it. I don't make any changes (unless I need to based on something I don't have on hand. Adding Sage works nicely too!) Great side dish recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Not bad, but not really "lemony" enough for my tastes. Might do well with some lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I've made these twice for dinner parties - they are so easy to prep but the flavor is incredible and guests rave about them. I use a bag of tiny potatoes and extra lemon. Wonderful recipe for stress free entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Next time I'll add more lemon as I could barely taste it, but overall it was good. I added carrots too and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
These potatoes were delicious! Upon reading some of the comments I only put 1/4 cup olive oil and omitted the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Excellent taste and easy prep. I followed recipe as written but had to add an additional 30 mins roasting time ( gas oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I almost always cook my potatoes this way. I don't use butter or canola oil though. I use Pam's Olive Oil Spray. It's healthier. I also brown my potatoes with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States