Laura's Easy Oatmeal Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Not terrible but would I make this again? Ya but I think it would be better if some dried fruit or other nuts were added to it. Maybe try honey instead of brown sugar, so it doesn't crumble so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Oh, man! These were so delicious, and simple too. I had a houseful of kids over and needed a simple and quick snack. This fit the bill, and I also like that it uses all oatmeal and no flour. Considering how easy and fast it was, I figured if it was tasty at all it would be a keeper. But when I bit into it--wow! It was delicious! It's now one of my favorite desserts. The kids liked it too. Very sweet and chewy. I almost wish I didn't find this recipe, because I can see it contributing to the spread of my waistline! These are the minor changes I made. I doubled the recipe and added a pinch of salt and a little cinnamon. I omitted the almonds and put it in a well-greased 9"x13" pan and baked for about 25 minutes. To make this recipe a little healthier, like for a breakfast bar, I might leave the chocolate chips off next time, throw in some raisins and perhaps substitute some honey for the brown sugar. I could probably reduce the sugar to about 3/4 cup and it would still be plenty sweet. (Edited to add: If you find the bars too crumbly, boil the butter/sugar mixture for about a minute before adding the oatmeal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
My family loved these Oatmeal Squares! I would definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I needed a quick snack for some of my hubby's co-workers. I didn't have to go to the store and the guys loved them!! I mixed the almonds with walnuts and they were gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Yum these are great! Yes a bit crumbly, but delicious. I left out the almonds and subbed dried cranberries, you could put in almost anything and they would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
very easy and good! I used agave syrup instead of sugar as it has a lower G.I. index. I may try adding shredded coconut next time and a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christines Comfort Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
A little sweet for me but my boys love them in their sack lunches. Very easy to make and easy to modify based on what I have in the cupboard w/ M&Ms, chocolate chips, dried cranberries, ground up Oreos, butterscotch chips etc. I add the extras after I've mixed the melted butter sugar mixture w/ the oatmeal so that they don't melt or fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It's hard to go wrong with butter, chocolate, and sugar... This is easy to make when you're fiending for cookies, but too lazy to make them! Definitely not healthy though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billie
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
These were super easy to make with ingredients that are usually on hand and they tasted pretty yummy. The oatmeal is a bit crumbly and falls apart easily, but it's still worth it. Also, they are a bit on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Good!! - actually more like a butterscotch candy with oatmeal than a cookie. I used walnuts (had them in the house) - and skipped the chips (didn't have them in the house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States