Laura's Easy Oatmeal Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
great idea! This is exactly what I was looking for, and love it. I can add my own stuff or change it around to put in them what I hace in my kitchen! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Oh, man! These were so delicious, and simple too. I had a houseful of kids over and needed a simple and quick snack. This fit the bill, and I also like that it uses all oatmeal and no flour. Considering how easy and fast it was, I figured if it was tasty at all it would be a keeper. But when I bit into it--wow! It was delicious! It's now one of my favorite desserts. The kids liked it too. Very sweet and chewy. I almost wish I didn't find this recipe, because I can see it contributing to the spread of my waistline! These are the minor changes I made. I doubled the recipe and added a pinch of salt and a little cinnamon. I omitted the almonds and put it in a well-greased 9"x13" pan and baked for about 25 minutes. To make this recipe a little healthier, like for a breakfast bar, I might leave the chocolate chips off next time, throw in some raisins and perhaps substitute some honey for the brown sugar. I could probably reduce the sugar to about 3/4 cup and it would still be plenty sweet. (Edited to add: If you find the bars too crumbly, boil the butter/sugar mixture for about a minute before adding the oatmeal.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
My family loved these Oatmeal Squares! I would definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I needed a quick snack for some of my hubby's co-workers. I didn't have to go to the store and the guys loved them!! I mixed the almonds with walnuts and they were gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
very easy and good! I used agave syrup instead of sugar as it has a lower G.I. index. I may try adding shredded coconut next time and a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christines Comfort Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Fast, easy, and delicious. They are a bit crumbly, even if you boil the caramel mixture for a few minutes, but it's ok. Just be sure to cut into very small squares, since they're incredibly rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
These are delicious, and very easy. I baked them in greased mini-muffin tins. They did get quite hard and crumbly once cooled, but the crumbs made an awesome yogurt topping! Instead of 2c oatmeal, I used 1 1/2c oatmeal, 1/4c coconut and 1/4c finely-chopped pecans and left out the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Thank you Laurasavvy! This recipe save my butt! I had decided to meet some friends and asked the question..."Do you need me to bring something?" I was to bring ice tea but my container ended up having a hole in it. I jumped on AR had just these items on hand. It wasn't pretty but, I am not a baker at all! Once everyone tasted it was a hit. I had one guy trying to take the pan home and vowed to mail it back just so he could eat what was left. Thank you so much and now I alway have an easy back up and I can remember this without having to print it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
What a tasty, simple recipe! I made it a bit healthier by substituting almond butter in place of regular butter and 1/4 cup cocoa mixed into to batter in place of the cocolate chips. I didn't need to boil the butter and sugar but just mixed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Fantastic! So crisp and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MitchJGray

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States