Latvian Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Beautiful in it's simplicity! Spreading out the thin layers is easiest of done all at once using lots of counter space. My first try I used a 9 X 13. The servings looked great. The whole cake would look outstanding in a trifle bowl. This can also lend itsef easily to a low-sugar and low carb variation as the cake layers are so thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The cake flavours were fabulous. I am quite a baking novice so please excuse my comments and questions if a more advanced cook. I used baking "wax" paper to bake on, and some layers came off more cleanly than others - possibly due to me not paying attention to which side of the paper I used! But I found there was plenty of batter for 5 sheets. I was unable to remove it neatly from the dish....so instead served it up in slices (squares). Regardless it received rave reviews and was one of the first cakes gone at a function with many other options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Hi, I dont know it cake is Latvian, but we in Lithuania making same, only to filling we add fresh 1 lemon juice. Try its real good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I actually have a question beforeI make the cake... would it be ok to substitute sourcream with Chobani Greek Yoghurt? I am making it for my American co-workers, and they are not as used to using sour cream in most of the dishes like Latvians :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I'm from Russia and our honey cake recipe is more difficult to make, but I love this simple recipe. It was delicious and all my family liked it also. I added walnuts between every layer...would make it again for sure. Thank you for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Latvians know how to do an amazing cake! Good for breakfast lunch or dinner- Oh and dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Excellent!!!! Moist & super delish! and taste like Latvian Medus kuka - Honey Cake! Make sure you spread thin layers as it will rise as you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Absolutely fantastic!!! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Used it the other day just to try out and was pleasantly surprised to find out it's less messy and not as time-consuming as my traditional recipe of a Russian honey cake that involves melting honey and eggs in a pot over the hot water, rolling the dough and cleaning the sticky mess afterwards. Imagine that!! This one is priceless, the dough is very soft and flexible, doesn't break when you scrape it off the paper. Took me about 1,5-2 hrs max to whip the the whole thing. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Something is missing in the filling. I have added a little cocoa powder to the filling - a little better. Other wise all you eat is sour cream. Also, there is absolutely not enough dough for 5 layers. I did very thin layers and hardly had enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States