Latvian Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Hi, I dont know it cake is Latvian, but we in Lithuania making same, only to filling we add fresh 1 lemon juice. Try its real good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The cake flavours were fabulous. I am quite a baking novice so please excuse my comments and questions if a more advanced cook. I used baking "wax" paper to bake on, and some layers came off more cleanly than others - possibly due to me not paying attention to which side of the paper I used! But I found there was plenty of batter for 5 sheets. I was unable to remove it neatly from the dish....so instead served it up in slices (squares). Regardless it received rave reviews and was one of the first cakes gone at a function with many other options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Latvians know how to do an amazing cake! Good for breakfast lunch or dinner- Oh and dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Make sure the layers are toasty brown and you will have no trouble getting them off of the parchment... it's like a jelly roll without the roll. I used yogurt rather than sour cream and added 2 T of honey to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBABYAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Beautiful in it's simplicity! Spreading out the thin layers is easiest of done all at once using lots of counter space. My first try I used a 9 X 13. The servings looked great. The whole cake would look outstanding in a trifle bowl. This can also lend itsef easily to a low-sugar and low carb variation as the cake layers are so thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Absolutely fantastic!!! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Used it the other day just to try out and was pleasantly surprised to find out it's less messy and not as time-consuming as my traditional recipe of a Russian honey cake that involves melting honey and eggs in a pot over the hot water, rolling the dough and cleaning the sticky mess afterwards. Imagine that!! This one is priceless, the dough is very soft and flexible, doesn't break when you scrape it off the paper. Took me about 1,5-2 hrs max to whip the the whole thing. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notpickyeater
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
It's impossible to spread 3-4 tbsp of sticky or any batter into 9x12 rectangle. There must be some mistake. I had to double recipe to get 4 layers about 8/9x12" each, they did rise and looked good. I will try to post a picture later. They stick to the parchment paper badly. To remove paper without ruining your cake, you need to use damp kitchen towel. Put your cake paper side down on the damp towel, let it rest for a minute, then turn it over and carefully remove paper. And just so you know, this is not an alternative to Medovik (Russian honey cake). It's not the same. It's very very chewy, rubber like, it was impossible to make crumbs out of this. The layers soaked up all filling, and I did use a lot, but the cake was extremely dry anyways. I made hundreds of honey cakes in my life (my Mom's favorite:o)) (with water bath or melting honey with soda until foamy and brownish, there are many techniques), this is the first one I threw away. I will stick to my old recipes, 3 tbsp honey is enough to make yummy layered honey cake. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I'll add stars tomorrow after I taste the final product, but in the meantime--LIELS PALDIES! I lost the recipe my friends gave me years ago, and the only other recipe I saw online had bananas in it. Bananas? In Meduskuka? I was afraid to spread it thin enough, so I only got four layers, but they were all fluffier than necessary, so next time I'll be braver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I'm from Russia and our honey cake recipe is more difficult to make, but I love this simple recipe. It was delicious and all my family liked it also. I added walnuts between every layer...would make it again for sure. Thank you for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I actually have a question beforeI make the cake... would it be ok to substitute sourcream with Chobani Greek Yoghurt? I am making it for my American co-workers, and they are not as used to using sour cream in most of the dishes like Latvians :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States