Latvian Honey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Excellent!!!! Moist & super delish! and taste like Latvian Medus kuka - Honey Cake! Make sure you spread thin layers as it will rise as you bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I'm from Russia and our honey cake recipe is more difficult to make, but I love this simple recipe. It was delicious and all my family liked it also. I added walnuts between every layer...would make it again for sure. Thank you for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I actually have a question beforeI make the cake... would it be ok to substitute sourcream with Chobani Greek Yoghurt? I am making it for my American co-workers, and they are not as used to using sour cream in most of the dishes like Latvians :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notpickyeater
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
It's impossible to spread 3-4 tbsp of sticky or any batter into 9x12 rectangle. There must be some mistake. I had to double recipe to get 4 layers about 8/9x12" each, they did rise and looked good. I will try to post a picture later. They stick to the parchment paper badly. To remove paper without ruining your cake, you need to use damp kitchen towel. Put your cake paper side down on the damp towel, let it rest for a minute, then turn it over and carefully remove paper. And just so you know, this is not an alternative to Medovik (Russian honey cake). It's not the same. It's very very chewy, rubber like, it was impossible to make crumbs out of this. The layers soaked up all filling, and I did use a lot, but the cake was extremely dry anyways. I made hundreds of honey cakes in my life (my Mom's favorite:o)) (with water bath or melting honey with soda until foamy and brownish, there are many techniques), this is the first one I threw away. I will stick to my old recipes, 3 tbsp honey is enough to make yummy layered honey cake. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Latvians know how to do an amazing cake! Good for breakfast lunch or dinner- Oh and dessert too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Make sure the layers are toasty brown and you will have no trouble getting them off of the parchment... it's like a jelly roll without the roll. I used yogurt rather than sour cream and added 2 T of honey to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBABYAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Something is missing in the filling. I have added a little cocoa powder to the filling - a little better. Other wise all you eat is sour cream. Also, there is absolutely not enough dough for 5 layers. I did very thin layers and hardly had enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Absolutely fantastic!!! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Used it the other day just to try out and was pleasantly surprised to find out it's less messy and not as time-consuming as my traditional recipe of a Russian honey cake that involves melting honey and eggs in a pot over the hot water, rolling the dough and cleaning the sticky mess afterwards. Imagine that!! This one is priceless, the dough is very soft and flexible, doesn't break when you scrape it off the paper. Took me about 1,5-2 hrs max to whip the the whole thing. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very nice and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Hi, I dont know it cake is Latvian, but we in Lithuania making same, only to filling we add fresh 1 lemon juice. Try its real good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States