Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was good, not k different than a taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
SUPER-DELICIOUS! I cut the recipe in half, which was plenty for our family of 4, and added 1/2 brick of cream cheese without removing any cooking liquid. It was a great, stew-like consistency. I substituted my own spices for the taco seasoning (cumin, paprika, chile powder, coriander). I served it over a bed of rice with diced avocados and queso cotija for topping, but it would also make a great filling for burritos! Everyone loved it and I will definitely make it again--SO QUICK AND EASY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
YUM! I only adjusted one thing, due to the spice level. I used 1/2 tsp. of cayenne (red chile pepper) and 1 1/2 tsp. chili powder, instead of all cayenne. This recipe was DELICIOUS, and topping it with chopped avocado is a must. We served with tortilla chips. Definitely putting this in our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Update!! I wanted to say that if you want to save time- I also will buy a whole rotisserie chicken and debone and flake the meat instead of chicken breasts! Just another helpful addition to this recipe. This is a great starter and you can be super creative with it! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. The flavor and colors are wonderful. It's quite spicy so I top with a little sour cream. I made mine with chicken thighs (thats what I had). I also used 1 can less tomatoes and cooked on high for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda Balavage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this! We didn't add any cream cheese and it was still great as a thinner soup. So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. Super easy to make and delicious! The only thing I do differently is use a whole 8 oz. block of cream cheese, and sometimes I'll add some chicken broth if we're in the mood for a thinner, less chowder-like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Very easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. A lot of comments said to double the cream cheese but I personally think that would be way too creamy. It was perfect the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is very much like chili in flavor, probably the overabundance of tomato. Family enjoyed it. It was not for me. Followed recipe straight up as written, with exception of adding 1 chopped medium onion and cooking for 11 hours. The chicken fell apart nicely, but it didn't pick up any character from the rest of the mix. Pretty expensive ingredient list for a mediocre chili taste. Tons of it left over and that promises to add to the disappointment for days to come since I take leftovers to work for my lunch. Bet the wife and kids won't touch it again, either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I think it was my fault this turned out just ok. First, 8-10 hours would be far too long. At about six hours, I decided to add a cup of brown rice. I think this was the mistake, and I ended up with a crockpot mush! It was flavorful, but not what I wanted. I will give it another try when I want a stick to your ribs cool weather dish. However, I will cook the rice separately, leave the chicken stew a bit soupy and serve on top of the rice. Or, perhaps, just serve with sour cream and tortilla chips on top. Like others, I used a combination of chicken breasts and chicken thighs. I am not sure the cream cheese is necessary; will make that decision next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States