Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
We loved this recipe! It is fairly spicy and really flavorful. It is so easy to make, I put it together the day before and put it in the fridge for the next morning to cook. I did add 1 extra can of pinto beans and extra 1/2 cup corn to make it a little more chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I've been making this for a while now and it is the best slow cooker recipe I've ever found. I have changed things over time depending on how many and who I'm feeding. The biggest changes I've made are using regular salsa, normally medium but easy to adjust. I also use a creole spice mix that I mix myself so I can adjust salt level. I've made this ahead, put in aluminum trays and brought to boat for weekend trips. Reheat on grill- offer up shredded cheese and serve as a chile with rice if you can. So simple, so easy, so easy to adjust! What's not to love. Thank you for this recipe, it's probably the only reason I still have my slow cooker:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
It was good, not k different than a taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
SUPER-DELICIOUS! I cut the recipe in half, which was plenty for our family of 4, and added 1/2 brick of cream cheese without removing any cooking liquid. It was a great, stew-like consistency. I substituted my own spices for the taco seasoning (cumin, paprika, chile powder, coriander). I served it over a bed of rice with diced avocados and queso cotija for topping, but it would also make a great filling for burritos! Everyone loved it and I will definitely make it again--SO QUICK AND EASY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
YUM! I only adjusted one thing, due to the spice level. I used 1/2 tsp. of cayenne (red chile pepper) and 1 1/2 tsp. chili powder, instead of all cayenne. This recipe was DELICIOUS, and topping it with chopped avocado is a must. We served with tortilla chips. Definitely putting this in our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Update!! I wanted to say that if you want to save time- I also will buy a whole rotisserie chicken and debone and flake the meat instead of chicken breasts! Just another helpful addition to this recipe. This is a great starter and you can be super creative with it! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. The flavor and colors are wonderful. It's quite spicy so I top with a little sour cream. I made mine with chicken thighs (thats what I had). I also used 1 can less tomatoes and cooked on high for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frieda Balavage

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this! We didn't add any cream cheese and it was still great as a thinner soup. So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. Super easy to make and delicious! The only thing I do differently is use a whole 8 oz. block of cream cheese, and sometimes I'll add some chicken broth if we're in the mood for a thinner, less chowder-like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Very easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. A lot of comments said to double the cream cheese but I personally think that would be way too creamy. It was perfect the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States