Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I threw this together in the morning and went off to work. Came home to my home smelling delicious with my family patiently waiting for me to add the cream cheese and serve it on up. I used low fat cream cheese. This recipe is awesome and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Hubby really enjoyed this. I used an 8 oz. block of cream cheese and substituted boneless thighs for the breasts and frozen (thawed) corn instead of canned. Next time I will add even more cilantro. I shredded the chicken before serving. The day it was made I thought it was good, but it definitely tasted better the next day. It filled my crockpot to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
LOVED this recipe. Reminds me of a tortilla soup. We put cheese and tortilla chips on the top, it was fantastic. We only used black beans, and used frozen corn instead. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Super easy meets super tasty!! This is absolutely delicious! I followed it as closely as possible - substituting regular salsa for green salsa (I couldn't find green salsa at the grocery store) and I make my own taco seasonings. I use the Taco Seasonings 1 recipe from this website because it tastes 100 times better than the packaged stuff, plus I . The chicken fell apart on it's own after cooking for 4 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy31179
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! Took to a potluck and EVERYONE loved it. I de-boned a cooked rotisserie chicken and added it to all the other ingredients except the cream cheese. I added 2 cups of chicken broth since the chicken was already cooked. Put it in the refridge overnight. Cook on high for 3 hours then added cream cheese which thickened it up a bit and cooked another 20 mins. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! Topped with some freshly made tortilla chips :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very good recipe! Followed the recipe, except for not reading that the beans needed to be drained. Made for a good soup. We added rice to the soup and topped with crushed Fritos. Next time, we'll also top with some sour cream, shredded cheese, and chopped onion. It's the kind of recipe that makes for a good starting point to add stuff to and be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Hershey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I read through a lot of slow cooker stew type recipes on the site and landed on this one for a few reasons. The flavor sounded great and the recipe seemed quick to put together- boy was I right! I made only 2 changes to the recipe which was to use boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast and low fat cream cheese at the end. This recipe really was SO easy. If you can operate a can opener you are pretty much done. After 10 hours on low the chicken essentially shred itself. The key is definitely using good quality pantry items. I used a Salsa Verde that is my absolute favorite from Trader Joes and a higher quality can of diced tomatoes which I think helped with the depth of flavor. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was very delicious. I really liked the black bean and pinto bean combination. I wasn't sure about what she meant by the ground red chile pepper, which could be cayenne, but 2 teaspoons of that would probably be way too spicy. Instead I used 1 1/2 teas. of Chipotle Chile Powder which made it perfectly flavorful without being too spicy (though next time I may increase it). Other reviewers were right, this fills your crockpot to the brim! I wish I had used my larger crock for I had to leave out some of the corn (I used frozen) because it would have spilled over. Used frozen chicken breast right out of the freezer. First day I served with cheese and crushed chips and the second day (there's a tone here) I served over rice with a dollop of sour cream... so good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was really wonderful. I used 2 T of Taco Seasoning I from this website (with reduced salt and pepper and pepper flakes eliminated), omitted the chile pepper and cumin and used 4 large chicken breasts. Also used full 8 oz. brick of cream cheese and all black beans instead of a bean combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States