Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This sounds like it would be really good if you are pressed for time. I think frozen corn and using uncooked beans would be so much healthier. I haven't made this yet and when I do, I will come back and let you know how it turns out! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Excellent stew; could also be called a chili. The only change I felt compelled to make was to add about a 1/2 cup onion; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. While putting it together, I felt that 3 cans of tomatoes were too many, but it ended up being the right amount. I also considered not adding the cream cheese, but it gave a really nice creaminess to the stew. Next time I will actually add less chicken - I think half will be enough. The recipe didn't state to shred the chicken, but I did. You need a large crock pot for this recipe! Thanks, Mshellz2u! I will have some yummy leftovers for awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I threw this together in the morning and went off to work. Came home to my home smelling delicious with my family patiently waiting for me to add the cream cheese and serve it on up. I used low fat cream cheese. This recipe is awesome and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Hubby really enjoyed this. I used an 8 oz. block of cream cheese and substituted boneless thighs for the breasts and frozen (thawed) corn instead of canned. Next time I will add even more cilantro. I shredded the chicken before serving. The day it was made I thought it was good, but it definitely tasted better the next day. It filled my crockpot to the brim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
LOVED this recipe. Reminds me of a tortilla soup. We put cheese and tortilla chips on the top, it was fantastic. We only used black beans, and used frozen corn instead. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good recipe! I loved that you make it in the slow cooker :) We topped our soup with a spoonful of sour cream and some shredded cheddar cheese, served with some corn chips! It made a TON for just two people so I froze half of it for another dinner. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Super easy meets super tasty!! This is absolutely delicious! I followed it as closely as possible - substituting regular salsa for green salsa (I couldn't find green salsa at the grocery store) and I make my own taco seasonings. I use the Taco Seasonings 1 recipe from this website because it tastes 100 times better than the packaged stuff, plus I . The chicken fell apart on it's own after cooking for 4 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy31179
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good! Took to a potluck and EVERYONE loved it. I de-boned a cooked rotisserie chicken and added it to all the other ingredients except the cream cheese. I added 2 cups of chicken broth since the chicken was already cooked. Put it in the refridge overnight. Cook on high for 3 hours then added cream cheese which thickened it up a bit and cooked another 20 mins. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! Topped with some freshly made tortilla chips :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States