Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Very tasty but I would definitely serve in corn and/or flour tortillas as opposed to over rice. Hot sauce and guacamoli would be a plus too. Spicier green hot sauce would be a plus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Personally I loved this recipe but what is wrong with my family???? The flavors were robust, the chicken was tender and so yummy. Daughter said too much cilantro, Son gave no reason, Husband said it seemed like it should be in a taco without all the sauce. Argh! Just get a tortilla, why don't you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used my leftover Thanksgiving turkey in this recipe in place of the chicken. It turned out so good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! I made this dish just as called for on the recipe except for only putting in 1/4 tsp of ground red chile pepper and I only had 5 pieces of chicken. Everyone in my family loved it, even my two year old neice! This recipe makes a ton of food, so leftovers all week. mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Loved it! I made it for me and my boyfriend tonight and it was great! I added half of a large yellow onion, a teaspoon of minced garlic, and had to replace the fresh cilantro with dried. I also used diced tomatoes with green chilies for extra heat. I topped it with low fat shredded cheddar cheese and fresh scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this today and the husband loved it! I added fresh avocado to and tortillas strips on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fantastic! I made this recipe just as specified except I used the tomatoes with green chiles instead of just diced tomatoes and I added half of a yellow onion, diced. For some reason, I just have to put onions in everything. Even without them, this stew would be excellent. I didn't have to remove any of the liquid as recommended to end up with a nice stew texture, however mine did cook in the slow cooker for nearly twelve hours. I tasted it when I was rushing out the door after about 10 hours and was really skeptical of adding the cream cheese because it tasted so good without it, however, the cream cheese really does add a different dimension to the flavor profile. I like that I can omit that if necessary next time I make it, as all of the other ingredients I usually have on hand. This is a quick and easy stew and is definitely a keeper. My husband calls it "spicy Brunswick stew" and I find that name rather fitting. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic!! Elected to use 3-3/4 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts. For the diced tomatoes, used 4, 10 oz. cans of Rotel Hot Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros. For Taco Seasoning, used 6 tsp. of Taco Seasoning I by B. Echols from this site. We choose to make this as a soup, leaving the extra flavorful liquid (if making as a stew, reserve the liquid for use in other dishes). The addition of cream cheese is a nice twist, but this soup can easily stand on its own. The habanero peppers definitely ramped up the heat, but perfect for us. We used a 6 qt. slow cooker, and it was full to within an inch of overfilling {and we probably used at least a pound less of chicken}. Our cooking time was 4 hrs. on low, and followed by 2 hrs. on high. MSHELLZ2U, your roommate did you right, and thankfully you cleaned out your cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
That was wonderful! I used only 1 can of diced tomatooes, 1 can of rotel, a bit less chicken and low sodium taco seasoning. Fantastic! Everyone loved this one. Served with a dollop of sour cream, as it did have a bit of a kick. Also, this makes a lot! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennerdell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The best recipe I've tried from here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States