Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic!! Elected to use 3-3/4 lbs. of skinless, boneless chicken thighs rather than chicken breasts. For the diced tomatoes, used 4, 10 oz. cans of Rotel Hot Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros. For Taco Seasoning, used 6 tsp. of Taco Seasoning I by B. Echols from this site. We choose to make this as a soup, leaving the extra flavorful liquid (if making as a stew, reserve the liquid for use in other dishes). The addition of cream cheese is a nice twist, but this soup can easily stand on its own. The habanero peppers definitely ramped up the heat, but perfect for us. We used a 6 qt. slow cooker, and it was full to within an inch of overfilling {and we probably used at least a pound less of chicken}. Our cooking time was 4 hrs. on low, and followed by 2 hrs. on high. MSHELLZ2U, your roommate did you right, and thankfully you cleaned out your cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
That was wonderful! I used only 1 can of diced tomatooes, 1 can of rotel, a bit less chicken and low sodium taco seasoning. Fantastic! Everyone loved this one. Served with a dollop of sour cream, as it did have a bit of a kick. Also, this makes a lot! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennerdell, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The best recipe I've tried from here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I used my own homemade taco seasoning and I upped the cilantro. I had some red peppers I needed to use so I sauteed those with some sliced onion and fresh minced garlic and threw all that in the crockpot with everything else. This is off the charts delicious. The cream cheese makes it just creamy enough without going overboard. One of the best soups I've had in a long time--nevermind it's incredibly simple to make. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was delicious. And easy. Will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very tasty. I added about 2/3 cup of dry rice for the last hour and it thickened up very nice. Nice recipe to start in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love this recipe! I found it just recently and have made it 3 times already. The only alteration I made to the original recipe is to omit the cilantro since we're not big fans of it. We've topped it with a dollop of sour cream and hubby also has to have tortilla chips with it. I'm making it to take to a church dinner this month too...Amazing flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I loved the flavor of this and it was so easy. I did add more heat and less chicken. I shredded the chicken after it was cooked. I put the fresh cilantro in each bowl before serving. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really yummy. Used boneless chicken thighs and I used half rotel habanero and half rotel with lime and cilantro and it turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNTCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Ah-mazing. Used the recommendation of other reviewers to use 8oz cream cheese but you don't need it! I used fat free (which tends to have a bit of a twang.) I didn't mind it but my bf did. If I made it again I would only use 4oz of cream cheese. I think the extra cream cheese also muted some of the spices. I like it spicy! Was concerned about an overly salty dish with the package of taco seasoning so I used no salt tomatoes and no salt black beans. Added extra cilantro at the end. Such an easy dish with lots of leftovers! I froze the leftovers but took them out within a day to eat the rest. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States