Latin-Inspired Spicy Cream Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Loved this! We didn't add any cream cheese and it was still great as a thinner soup. So easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. Super easy to make and delicious! The only thing I do differently is use a whole 8 oz. block of cream cheese, and sometimes I'll add some chicken broth if we're in the mood for a thinner, less chowder-like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Very easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. A lot of comments said to double the cream cheese but I personally think that would be way too creamy. It was perfect the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is very much like chili in flavor, probably the overabundance of tomato. Family enjoyed it. It was not for me. Followed recipe straight up as written, with exception of adding 1 chopped medium onion and cooking for 11 hours. The chicken fell apart nicely, but it didn't pick up any character from the rest of the mix. Pretty expensive ingredient list for a mediocre chili taste. Tons of it left over and that promises to add to the disappointment for days to come since I take leftovers to work for my lunch. Bet the wife and kids won't touch it again, either...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I think it was my fault this turned out just ok. First, 8-10 hours would be far too long. At about six hours, I decided to add a cup of brown rice. I think this was the mistake, and I ended up with a crockpot mush! It was flavorful, but not what I wanted. I will give it another try when I want a stick to your ribs cool weather dish. However, I will cook the rice separately, leave the chicken stew a bit soupy and serve on top of the rice. Or, perhaps, just serve with sour cream and tortilla chips on top. Like others, I used a combination of chicken breasts and chicken thighs. I am not sure the cream cheese is necessary; will make that decision next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
So easy to make and so flavourful. I made some rice with lime and cilantro and also increased the cream cheese to 8 oz.for a creamier sauce and added frozen corn instead of the canned. My family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was very good and well-liked, but my chicken chili is such a better way to go. I call this South American chicken chili. Definitely serve with avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this as submitted except - I used only 1 tsp cayenne. Thank goodness, because even that was quite spicy and I ended up adding the other half of an 8oz block of cream cheese to try to calm it down a bit. I served it over rice. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Easy to make, and really good. Both teenagers really liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very tasty! This make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States