Last Minute Chicken Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Last Minute Chicken Dinner Haiku: "Just a bit more work than to call it 'last minute.' Not our favorite." Used all of the ingredients as written, only my chicken was from a large batch that I'd prepared, shredded, and frozen previously in individual portions. We all ate this w/o murmurs of "mmms" or any enthusiastic praise, so it's unlikely it'll make another appearance in the kitchen, but I was glad to try out a new dish anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I am with the minority here that thought this was a pretty good jumping off point but not 4/5 stars "great". A good base recipe to expand upon. First off, it definitely was not ready in 25 minutes. Allow close to an hour, which is still pretty good by dinner prep standards. Secondly, for the size of portions we typically eat, it serves way more than 4; you may want to adjust the portions/ingredients considerably if you don't want to have a lot of leftovers. I made the recipe pretty close to the instructions, with these variations: - fresh broccoli & carrots instead of frozen - chunky cuts of potato instead of thin slices - 1 tbsp oil instead of 2 - more (unmeasured) parmesan After the recipe was 'done,' I added the following: - several shakes of salt - several grinds of pepper - two cloves of pressed garlic - approx. 1 tbsp marjoram - approx. 1 tbsp sage With 10 more minutes of simmering, this was good to go. White wine would be a nice addition, as would rosemary and some butter. Thanks for posting and happy cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Valdez
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
my husband and i really liked this (and he never likes anything). I did make some changes though. i took a can of sliced new potatoes and i fried those in the oil. I wasn't sure how they would be in the mix so I kept them as a side dish (husband loved them separated). For the veggies, i had 12 oz of frozen broccoli so I steamed that in the microwave. I cut up 5 carrots and boiled it in chicken broth and drained them. Didn't have cauliflower. I cooked the onions in oil until clear and soft. i also thought that was a lot of onion for the recipe, and I'm a big onion fan. i put about 3/4 of the onion in but i think next time i'd do 1/2 of an onion. I didn't have marjoram so I used 1/8 tsp of oregano. I sprinkled on some more parsley as well. I didn't add the parmesan but left it as a topping that could be sprinkled over as an option. And i'm glad i left it out, although i'd like to try it in the sauce one day. Served over noodles. Took me about ~1.5 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Valdez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Excellent dish. However, next time I make it I won't used prepared soup. I'd rather have less salt content. I'll make a roux with my own chicken stock instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dselgas
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The recipe was great. My boyfriend and I could not stop eating! I made some adjustments of course. First I seasoned the chicken over night with seasoned salt, powdered jerk seasoning, and powder garlic. I sprinkled some dry parsley and powder garlic while they were cooking. I used fresh broccoli and carrots and omitted the cauliflower. I did the broccoli separate and then added it towards the end. I also mixed in the marjoram, basil, parsley, and seasoned salt while it was cooking instead of adding it towards the end. And to finish it off, made basmati rice to eat along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My Husband made this for dinner when i was sick. It was simple enough and tasted delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Family loved it, the wife said,"Give it 5 stars".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
this is a pretty good base recipe - i used cr. of potato, because that's what i had, so i used chicken bouillon instead of the milk. i sauteed the onion with the chicken, and used quartered baby carrots which i cooked along with the potatoes (i don't care for frozen carrots!), fresh garlic went in with the chicken and onions, and i skipped the parmesan entirely because it seemed out of place. it was enjoyed by all, including the 3-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I didn't make this the "fast" way, I used fresh carrots and broccoli. But that was okay, because this was delicious. I about doubled this recipe for my big family and it was nearly gone when dinner was over. ***I've now made this recipe three times, each time my kids tell me "You should make this more often!". I've used frozen veggies and fresh, canned chicken, fresh chicken...all ways has been very good. My note: LOAD up the vegetables...I use more than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
left out the cauliflower and changed up the herbs a little bit but this was very good! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States