Lasagna-Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Good base recipe. What I found to be wrong with these is the recipe does not mention the excess water that comes from baking the mushrooms. Mushrooms carry so much moisture and they just filled the bottom of the pan with water. I think if I make these again I will use a rack in the bottom of the pan to keep the mushrooms from the water. My boyfriend thinks the recipe is worth 4 stars, I said 3. I will use this again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I don't know why cottage cheese is used instead of Ricotta cheese. Cottage cheese to me is more of a substitute for cream cheese (same type of flavor). I used Ricotta cheese and it tasted wonderful. Also, after reading another review, I tried baking this on a rack to drain the mushrooms. It didn't work because I believe the mushrooms need to be on the pan for the full heat of the pan in order to cook. I wound up putting them in the microwave for a minute each because the mushrooms weren't cooked and then put them under the broiler with the sauce & cheese as indicated but this time without that rack. They did release a lot of juice, but I just poured it off. It was fine. 1 more thing: if you change the serving amt, do not change the eggs. i.e. if you want 6 servings, the "calculator" will triple all the ingredients. Do not put in 3 eggs. You still only need 1 egg. When I make regular lasagna I only use 1 egg regardless of whether I use 1, 2 or 3 lbs of ricotta. It's just there for the texture. 3 eggs would be FAR too much. Thanks for a great alternative to using pasta. My neighbor is disabled and I cook for her twice a month as a treat and a favor. She is on a gluten free diet & I was getting tired of just baking chickens with sides of rice & veggies. What a wonderful alternative this was. She LOVED it!! Thank you for posting it. Without the cottage cheese, I rate this 5 stars. It's a very delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I am eating these right now and they are PHENOMENAL. I used Ricotta cheese rather than cottage cheese but will try it with cottage cheese another time for sure. I used portobello mushrooms and this is one of my favourite recipes I have gotten off of web sites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I had a friend who is allergic to gluten in town last weekend so I tried this recipe. My whole family thought it was delicious and they can picky eaters. I think garlic would be a great addition to this recipe for a little more flavor. We also added some extra meat to ours which made it extremely filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hofflaur
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I used regular white mushrooms because I wanted them to be bite size. AMAZING!!!! I used a teaspoon to take the stems out and a frosting bag to pipe in the filling. WORTH IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this recipe over the weekend. It was surperb! We loved it. Very easy and made a whole meal with a small salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Yum! Great recipe. A great alternative, to make this more lasagna like, is to cook/add Acini di pepe pasta! I am in love with stuffed mushrooms but am picky about what goes in them... great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelmarie702

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good! Hubby liked these a lot. I added garlic powder and skipped the onion. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Edible but no rave reviews. This sounded like a perfect combo for my family but it just wasnt great. Almost as much work as regular lasagna and we'd much prefer that anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My husband says this is actually a 4 1/2 star recipe. (Not sure why, I think it was 5) Very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States