Lasagna Spirals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
OMG.. I have not logged in to the site for a while but this recipe was emailed to me as one of my daily recipes. I did not have broccoli so I used spinach! It was AWESOME... I logged on to rate this recipe and noticed the someone in March left a review that they would have probably like spinach instead of broccoli.... they have to try it!! It gives this dish a wonderful... stand alone taste.. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I served this to two VERY picky eaters who finished half the pan of spirals! This is absolutely wonderful, i wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe is BRILLIANT and so satisfying. Couldn't be easier to make -- I made it on a weeknight after work and still caught the end of the evening news. I followed the recipe exactly except we used spinach and artichokes instead of broccoli. I didn't miss the meat at all and love the portion control you get from the spiral approach. None of the issues of layers of lasagne falling apart as you serve it. By the way, YES, you need the nutmeg! I was skeptical but it "finished" the flavors nicely. The best part -- this is a very approachable dish for all sorts of eaters. My vegetarian daughter and my picky son were both impressed. Thank you, Susan, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
Really good. Easy to make, and tastes great. Kids like the spiral shapes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was a BIG hit when my in laws came for Sunday dinner. My sister in law is a vegetarian so I always try to make something to accomaodate all. This was perfect with meatballs on the side for meat lovers and garlic bread. I just made a few changes. I omitted the nutmeg and basil and opted instead for a lil Italian seasoning. I used fresh broccoli instead. I steamed it for 5 minutes in the microwave, chopped into tiny pieces, and tossed it with a pinch of garlic powder before adding it to the ricotta mixture. This dish was very tasty and very easy to make. It made a beautiful presentation. My husband has asked for it again and my daughter, who is almost 1, loved it as well. I'll be making this for my daughters first birthday party since it's perfect to assemble ahead of time and just heat on the big day. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
SUPERB! I CUT THE NOODLES IN HALF MAKING 20 ROLL-UPS...I USED SPINACH IN THE SECOND BATCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was great and it was easy!!! Big factor for me. Used spinach vs. broccoli as I always think of nutmeg with spinach. Added some garlic salt and forgot the green onions as I was talking on the phone while cooking. I would use this filling and variations of it in other dishes as well. Use a good pasta sauce with a lot of basil,onion, garlic, and rich tomato flavor. More exotic will take away from the spinach cheese and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Unadilla, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I normally HATE making lasagna because my ingredients run out at different times with the layering technique, but this worked out so great! Super easy. The spirals made excellent portions too. I substituted spinach for the broccoli. My (meat lover)husband and I agree that this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very enjoyable meal! I assembled mine this morning before heading off to work. Once home at the end of the day I did increase the baking time to one hour (due to the fact that it was going straight from the fridge to the oven). Just the right amount of baking time, it came out hot and delicious. I will definately be making this again soon and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! Very filling and there were no burnt edges like there sometimes are when baking a normal lasagna! I left out the nutmeg because of what previous reviewers said, and I used 10 oz broccoli and 10 oz frozen spinach. I loved it with the spinach! Next time I think I might use only spinach in this! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States