Lasagna Spirals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This dish was easy and super delicious! I cut the amount of nutmeg way back, because 2 teaspoons seemed excessive, and added 2 big cloves of crushed garlic to the filling and it was so YUMMY! I never have luck with making lasagna (I always run out of the layers at different times) so this might just be MY lasagna recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was very good. The first time I used about 1/2 t of nutmeg, 1 t of basil, & added 1 t parsley, & left out the green onions. I also added about 1/4 c romano to the filling and some salt and pepper. The 2nd time, I omitted broccoi & used 10 oz. of chopped spinach and about 3/4 lb. of browned hot italian sausage crumbled. My son said it was too much spinach so I would probably used 1/2 pkg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I used fresh lasagna noodles and spinach instead of broccoli. I love that this was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Wonderful idea! The rolled up noodles made it far less messy to serve. The second time I made it I omitted the nutmeg. The taste did not belong. I substituted spinach for the broccoli and added grated cooked carrots as well. A great way to sneak in some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
way better when you use alfredo sauce instead of the spagetti. I thought alfredo sauce would taste good on this recipe so I looked for a recipe on here and came up with "famous restaurant alfredo sauce". I made two recipes. One with spag. sauce and one with the alfredo. The alfredo one was outstanding, it did taste like it came from a restaurant!! I would use 1/2 cup cream cheese instead of the 3/4 cup. Very rich sauce but so excellent. The whole dish was eaten and hardly any of the spag. sauce one. Didn't compare. Make sure you constantly stir cream cheese when cooking or will get lumpy, or put in processor first, cream chees takes long to melt. I used fat free half and half instead of reg. also i put fresh garlic on top of my own plate. SOOOOOO sooooo excellent. Husband couldn't believe it. Also I didn't make the roll-ups. The noodles were all broken when i opened the box so i just made it like it was a lasagna, layering the sauce, broken pieces of noodles,broccoli and riccota, ending with noodles and sauce. good luck must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I really enjoyed these. Based on previous reviews, I only added a dash of nutmeg and I couldn't even taste it. I also subbed 16 oz of chopped frozen spinach (thawed and drained) for the broccoli. I thought it was a little heavy on the spinach, but since I really like spinach it didn't bother me too much. I think I will cut back, though, in the future. Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe was great! Very filling and there were no burnt edges like there sometimes are when baking a normal lasagna! I left out the nutmeg because of what previous reviewers said, and I used 10 oz broccoli and 10 oz frozen spinach. I loved it with the spinach! Next time I think I might use only spinach in this! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I loved the idea of this recipe. It is so easy to make and delicious. The one thing I would change is the nutmeg. I associate nutmeg with baking and the tast of it was funny in a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
These were good! We did, however, make a few changes. We used a 16oz package of broccoli, and istead of ricotta cheese, we used cottage cheese. Also, we were able to make 12 spirals which baked for a little over 40 minutes. DO NOT USE 2 TEASPOONS OF NUTMEG, we used 1/2 teaspoon and you could still taste it just fine. Don't forget... a little extra cheese is never bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have to give this four stars because my hubby really liked it, but I really didn't. I'm going to make a few changes and give it another chance. First of all, I would like to have the broccoli cooked a little more (personal preference). I substituted cottage cheese for the ricotta since I don't really like ricotta and it didn't seem to have much flavor. My biggest problem was that I set the spirals on their side in the pan, rather than seam down (duh). So, the sauce didn't cover them very well. But, the hubby like them, and that's all that matters - right? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States