Lasagna Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was so yummy! I also had fun with the rolling but make sure you aren't in a hurry and are in the mood to cook. They really weren't difficult at all to do. However, I would suggest that after the noodles are done boiling, drain and seperate them and then let them cool for a few minutes before rolling. I added chopped mushrooms and very finely chopped onion and garlic to the cheese mixture but I can't seem to make myself cook without garlic and onions!Personally, I think the onions especially added to the taste. To give people making this for the first time an idea of how many lasagna noodles you need, I used 18 noodles in a 9x13 pan. I had three rows of six noodles. Also, I put a small handful of cheese mixture in each noodle. I'm always looking for recipes that work well with two people in the kitchen and this is definitely one of them! My husband and I chatted and drank wine while filling and rolling the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Great starter recipe, but needed more 'bang' in flavor. I've made this quite a few times now and always add chopped fresh basil, 1/2 (10 oz.) box thawed frozen spinach for more green/health factor, dash of nutmeg to ricotta mixture and salt/pepper to taste. But the tofu addition is SUPERB (use soft or medium firm- breaks up easier). Great way to add more protein/vitamins for the kids and my kids love it because each roll is a perfect serving size- and pretty too. Just remember to go easy when spreading the filling on the lasagna, too much and it won't roll. I've made this for company, always get raves. It's a pretty dish and guest are always impressed that they can't taste the tofu and that the dish tastes great. Try it Moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Loved it! For those with family members that do not particularily enjoy tofu, I suggest crumbling it as you mix it in. It will blend in better with the ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I made these with my boyfriend and they were lacking flavor a bit. We decided to make them again but added a variety of peppers and more seasoning and they were better. We even added meat for one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Nice change of pace from lasagna. I left out the tofu and they turned out great. I didn't have the problems that others had with rolling up, perhaps the tofu is the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
My family loved this. We had leftovers because it was very filling, but they were gone the next day. You wouldn't even know there was tofu in it either. The textures blend well together. If it seems hard to roll up, let the lasagna noodles cool a little so they are tacky instead of slippery and/or use less filling. The filling would go great in large shells too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
I added some spices to the cheese mixture (basil, thyme and oregano), it turned out very well. I was disappointed with the spinach I purchased though, so make sure you have top quality spinach to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is a great idea for a recipe. I thought the cheese blend left a little to be desired in terms of taste, so next time I will liven it up by adding garlic powder, maybe some different cheeses and something like marinated artichoke hearts. But really good idea, and they look really neat. Worth the time it takes to prepare -- spent mostly on the rolling of each noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
These were easy to make, easy to freeze, and very filling. I used whole wheat pasta to add more fiber. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
I chose this recipe with a very picky eater in mind and she loved it. Great out of the oven and and fantastic reheated as well. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States