Lasagna Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband usually doesn't like lasagna but said "this is the best lasagna I've ever had!" We loved it! But I did use a lot more sauce than was called for. I think the quality of the pasta depends a lot on the sauce you use. I added some Italian seasoning, but I think with the sauce I used, I could have went without and it still would have been pretty great :)I also didn't roll-up the lasagna as it was messy and added an extra step.... I just made it like regular lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great idea and you can really play this one quite a bit. Didn't have Tofu, so went "meatless" instead. I sauteed about 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1/2 cup of onions and my only (small) yellow squash (chopped in small cubes) that was ripe in my garden (what else to do with a "lone" squash for a family of 4?), added the jar of sauce-I only had a vodka cream in the cupboard, but any would work fine. I really didn't measure most of the cheeses and used mostly Romano and less of the Parmesan & Mozzarella. I know, it seems that a made an entirely different recipe, but for those that are afraid of trying something on their own-you really can't mess this one up. I poured most of the sauce on top just a light coating on the noodles, use your fingers for spreading the cheese mixture and sauce on the noodle-you're getting messy anyway with the rolls! Topped with a little garlic powder, and added some Mozzarella and Romano/Parmesan toward the end and this is now in the "Top Ten" in my house!! THanks for the inspiration Bettie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERGERQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These turned out great and you could put any sauce with them or make them less healthy but just as tasty by switching up the stuffing. A friend of mine used italian sausage instead of tofu and alfredo sauce instead of marinara. I froze the ones I made and took them out one at a time to bake for an easy, no prep dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The is a great base for a great lasgna, but I think it needed a little more spices. I also did not add any soy, because I avoid all soy except for fermented soy due to the fact that it mimics hormones. I added some italian sausage and mixed an egg into the ricotta cheese along with some italian seasonings. Topped with some fresh parsley and it was a well liked at the Boy Scout camp out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
We loved these! I did leave out the tofu because I didn't have any but what a quick meal that looks like you were at the stover longer.....very yummy. I would mess around with this one next time and possibly put other things I like in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was a good recipe but it DEFINITLEY needed some spicing up. I added garlic, basil, salt and pepper. I also used ground beef instead of tofu (only b/c the DH won't eat it!) I will definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Wow! Very easy to put together and no one realized there was tofu in this. I made one batch for dinner and froze the rest individually so I could pull them out to thaw in the morning and have an easy dinner for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made a few changes to this recipe, but all in all loved the concept. Omitted the tofu and spinach. (there are two things my husband will NOT eat...liver and spinach) In place of the tofu, we used 1 pound ground beef and 2 cups cottage cheese. With a tear in my eye(i love spinach) we did not replace the spinach. Then made to recipe specs. I loved the fact that these could be personalized (thus Momma getting her spinach next time) and can be frozen single servings to boot. I had extra filling left over as we only needed to prepare 6 rolls. They turned out amazing. Very good indeed. WILL be making these again. Be sure not to roll to "tightly" as the filling will ooz out if you do. My 10 year old loved how messy it was to roll them. But with a little practice and care it's fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
We thought this was fantastic. We like tofu at our house, but if you have someone who doesn't, make this recipe and they will never know. Like some others, I found the filling to be a little bland, so next time I probably will add some garlic powder to jazz it up. I'm not sure where the recipe submitter got the idea that this could fit in a 9X13 pan; with a full pound of lasagna noodles, it yielded that much plus an 11X7 pan I put in the freezer for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made these for the family tonight and they GOBBLED them up! I replaced the tofu with a pound of ground italian sausage (drained on paper towels). I used 2 cups of mozzerella in the filling, still not exactly sure how much cheese it called for. If you go by weight, 1lb = 16oz which equals like 4 cups! That seemed like way too much. 2 cups is enough in my opinion. I also didn't use quite 2 cups of parmesan, more like 1 1/2 cups. This does take some time to assemble, but it was worth it! My only issue was that I wasn't sure how much filling to put in each roll, so of course I overstuffed the first couple rows and ended up a couple short of filling the pan. Next time I will try dividing the filling into 3rds and then plan on filling 5 with each 3rd. I still ended up with 13 rolls which was plenty even with two teenagers and a bottomless pit hubby! :) Ty for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States