Lasagna Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made a half recipe (made nine rolls) and added salt, dried basil, dried oregano and powdered garlic to the spinach/cheese/tofu mixture. Made my own sauce from canned crushed Dei Fratelli tomatoes, garlic, onion powder, sea salt, basil and oregano with a splash of Burgandy cooking wine. Also used fresh basil, thinly sliced on top of the rolls with the mozzarella (added during the last ten minutes of cooking). The results were delicious and I would definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RNmommy3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The concept is great! I use this for the extra cheese mix I have after I make my lasagna. My lasagna mix is different, but a great idea for left over cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. Easier than making layered lasagna. I added meat to the sauce mixture and used fresh cooked spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved it! I like the presentation of this better than layer lasagna. I added ground turkey to mine and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
this is a great way to use up spaghetti sauce when you don't have a lot on hand. i used cottage cheese, parmasan, and one egg, plus mushrooms and thin slices of havarti inside each roll. found out you have to cut down all the veggies and meat, because it IS hard to keep the filling in! i put a layer of sauce and cheese down first as well, with sauce and cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margar
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
A good, solid recipe to start from. I read that some thought this recipe lacked "zing" and judging from the ingredients, I can see why. I saute'd some onion, green pepper, and garlic to add to the cheese mixture, plus used some home-dried basil and oregano. Instead of tofu and spinach, I included some finely chopped broccoli florets. The instructions and cook-time were spot-on, so I felt confident in using this as a base, and adding my own touches for extra flavor. I used whole wheat lasagna noodles. One note: I originally tried using regular lasagna noodles, but they shredded into oblivion while boiling in the pot after only 5 minutes! I had to go back out to the store and buy new noodles! I figured the whole wheat would be heartier and more stable, and boy I was RIGHT! they are very reliable- try whole wheat noodles for this, as they stay strong during boiling and rolling (And they're healthier, duh!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was fairly easy and came out well. One recommendation I would offer is to double up on pasta sauce. I cooked the recipe as directed, and added oregano, basil, and garlic for spice. I suggest layering the bottom of the baking pan with pasta sauce, placing the roll ups on the sauce and then covering the roll ups with plenty of pasta sauce and sprinkling with Parmesan cheese. This will probably keep the roll ups from coming out too dry as mine did. Can't even taste the tofu for the tofu haters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Really appreciated this recipe for the guidance. I decided to saute zucchini, garlic and summer squash, blended it, then mixed it in the cheese mixture instead of the spinach/tofu suggestion. This made a ton and everyone devoured it (including the 2 year old)! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Webster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
When I make these, I eliminate the tofu. I made it once with, but ultimately, the bulk it adds isn't needed. I keep half of the mixture meat free, and add browned Italian sausage to the other half, to please both the meat eaters and the vegetarians. I use double the amount of pasta sauce called for. Hot tips on making rolling super easy. 1. After cooking pasta, let it dry on paper towels. This helps a lot. 2. DITCH THE SPOON. I tried all of the different methods I read in the reviews, but really, just wash your hands and smear the mixture on. It's ten times faster and easier to get better coverage. It's messy no matter how you do it, you might as well do it effectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband usually doesn't like lasagna but said "this is the best lasagna I've ever had!" We loved it! But I did use a lot more sauce than was called for. I think the quality of the pasta depends a lot on the sauce you use. I added some Italian seasoning, but I think with the sauce I used, I could have went without and it still would have been pretty great :)I also didn't roll-up the lasagna as it was messy and added an extra step.... I just made it like regular lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States