Large White Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just made this cake, and it was dry, crumbly and very disappointing. I now have to start all over with a different recipe and go to the store to get more ingredients. I will never make this cake again, and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
The cake looked great but it sunk in the middle. So, I just went ahead and frosted and decorated to cover it. NOBODY like the cake. It was dry ! I wouldn't recommended anyone making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This cake was a major disappointment! It was extremely heavy and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Maybe i did something wrong also? i make cakes and i got a complaint with this recipe! it's heavy and dry. idk how you ll are saying its moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I substituted soy milk for the regular milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Council

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
very good cake, a little heavy- extremely soft, everyone loved this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Maybe i did something wrong because this cake was dry and I did not care for the taste; maybe it was me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Normally, I use a regular cake mix with a few extra ingredients and LOVE it, but since I couldn't find a mix in the house, I decided to try this one. Not sure what I did wrong. It was a bit dry, despite the extra milk I added. Am I the only one who thought this tasted sour? The consistency was more like cornbread...not a very sweet cake at all. My husband liked it, but said he still preferred the box mix. I would have thrown it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nealkel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
the cake was very delicious. but when i made it, it sunk in the middle. so i tried it again, (thinking it was my fault.)and it sunk again. very tasty but couldnt do anything with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This cake was great. It was just perfect topped with crushed strawberries! Yes it is a little dry, but that is just what we needed since the strawberries are runny. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States