Lap Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
THIS SALAD IS AWESOME!! I like the noodles crunchy, so I add them about 1-2 hours before serving. Using the prepared (already shredded tri color) cabbage bags from the grocer makes this a breeze!! I substituted garlic flavored Rice Wine Vinegar and left out the chicken. Doubled the recipe and there were NO LEFTOVERS!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was very good. I used about half the amount of vinegar called for, and we thought that was enough. I used sesame oil and added some diced celery. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is such a great salad, amazing how just a few simple ingredients can be so flavorful. For those on a tight budget like myself, its just as good without the chicken. Also, if you have rice wine vinegar, I'd recommend using that instead of regular white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
If you like coleslaw, you'll LOVE this salad. I you don't like coleslaw (like me, because of the soupy mayonaisse), you'll LOVE this salad. Definitely a great dish to prepare in advance to cut down on pre-party work. And the taste is addictive. Finally a new use for Ramen noodles. They're not just for college students anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
5 + stars. This salad is wonderful,used cole slaw mix instead of cabbage, and cut the recipe way down becouse it is just my husband and me. Also mixed all the seasoning together first then poured over the salad. This is a dish I will be sharing at get togethers and pot luck dinners. Can't wait for others to try it. Thanks so much Susan for the recipe. Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Isaacs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Very good salad. I made the oil in the recipe 1/2 sesame and 1/2 vegetable oil. I also added 2 shredded carrots. When I was making the dressing I added one minced garlic clove to the dressing ingredients and then let it boil over medium heat. Once dressing chilled, I tossed it with the salad and chilled again Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was a tasty, and easy-to-make recipe. I wish I had added a little red cabbage though for color's sake. I like that it is oil, and not mayonaise, based. Tastes good and has good texture, but needs a little more exciting flavor, though. I added a soy sauce/sesame oil mix to it and gave it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Great recipe. Make sure to season the chicken well (I cook in sesame oil)it has an influence on the overall taste. I also substitute rice vinegar and sesame oil for original ingredients in the recipe and use prepackaged cabbage mix for ease. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSY1350

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
i love this recipe. i change it to fit whatever ingredients i have on hand. sometimes no nuts, sometimes regular onion instead of green onion. last time i marinated the chicken breasts with the japanese chicken wing sauce from this site. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Such a wonderful salad! We couldn't wait overnight, so just ate it right away. I used splenda instead of regular sugar, and as others suggested, rice wine vinegar, and a splash of sesame oil. Thanks, will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States