Lap Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
THIS SALAD IS AWESOME!! I like the noodles crunchy, so I add them about 1-2 hours before serving. Using the prepared (already shredded tri color) cabbage bags from the grocer makes this a breeze!! I substituted garlic flavored Rice Wine Vinegar and left out the chicken. Doubled the recipe and there were NO LEFTOVERS!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
This was very good. I used about half the amount of vinegar called for, and we thought that was enough. I used sesame oil and added some diced celery. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I normally don't care for cabbage but I really like this salad. It is good right after it's made and better after it marinates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This is not your typical salad. I tryed something simular at a family event and liked it. Made this recipe and it was even better. I did do away with the chicken and used the pre-chopped coleslaw mix instead of the cabbage. I have to give this 5 stars because it is so different than what you normally have & it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Very good! This is a great recipe to "tweak". I added broccoli, green onions, shredded carrot and used a little extra rice wine vinegar because I like lots of vinegar. Sunflower seeds work well, too. Lots of crunch is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is such a great salad, amazing how just a few simple ingredients can be so flavorful. For those on a tight budget like myself, its just as good without the chicken. Also, if you have rice wine vinegar, I'd recommend using that instead of regular white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
If you like coleslaw, you'll LOVE this salad. I you don't like coleslaw (like me, because of the soupy mayonaisse), you'll LOVE this salad. Definitely a great dish to prepare in advance to cut down on pre-party work. And the taste is addictive. Finally a new use for Ramen noodles. They're not just for college students anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Great recipe! The first time I made this, it was gone in no time, and I had to make a second batch. I use more almonds than this recipe calls for. This is a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I have been making this for years and LOVE it... the only thing I do differently is skip the cabbage and add halved grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was a tasty, and easy-to-make recipe. I wish I had added a little red cabbage though for color's sake. I like that it is oil, and not mayonaise, based. Tastes good and has good texture, but needs a little more exciting flavor, though. I added a soy sauce/sesame oil mix to it and gave it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States